1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just wanted to introduce myself..

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by nsl2178, Dec 6, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wanted to know what the advantages of a crt project and lcd/dlp projector are? im new to this and i read the av fax page so dont link me there. I might ask some ignorant questions but just bare with me. Im interested in buying a video projector for my home under $1,000. I dont mind second hand but I have no idea what brands are good and which ones I should stay away from. Also how big are most the pictures put out by the projector, 8 feet wide? Last question is how much distance to I need from the screen and the projector or whats recommened? Thanks in advance.

2. meep

meep

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +48
    Hi,

Lots of the information you are seeking has been discussed at length in the foums. It's worth doing a search through the archives on a few keywords.

See my and other contributions to this thread for a general overview;

http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=44705&referrerid=12726

regarding CRT/LCD differences, there's tons of info. Here's a quickie (all generalisations, there are notable and honourable exceptions to all points);

CRT will give you a better (more film-like) image with no pixelation
    LCD will give you a brighter picture
    LCDs are small and portable, CRTs are big and heavy
    CRTs requires a fair degree of setting up and some onging maintenance/calibration
    CRTs give better/deeper blacks, LCDs can look grey
    CRTs dont have bulbs to blow
    CRT tubes wear out over time and are expensive to replace
    CRTs require some form of scaling to work at their best