1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just to carry on the fuel debate....

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by skap7309, Sep 17, 2005.

1. skap7309

skap7309

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi id just like to share my views on this as im a driver myself....
    I was very embarrased this week to see this shocking, greedy and petty so called 'panic buying' that was going on last week in danger of the protests. the organisers said NO fuel will be blocked but yet the country ran the pumps dry.
    i am lucky enough to be able to bike pretty much everywhere, and rarley use my car at all, i have alot of pity for people who genuinely need fuel for there work or buisness but shame on everyone who couldve quite easily found suitable car replacements. im just so glad this wasnt a food shortage for instance.
    just goes to show so much greed in modern life, with the fuel suppliers laughing their arses off at the idiots who filled their massive pockets. quite a bumper month for them i think you'll agree.
    apologies if ive offended any panic buyers.

2. Nick_UK

Nick_UK
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +270
    The blame for high prices have to be laid at the door of the oil producers, but I feel the media have a lot to answer for. The first thing I heard when I switched on the radio on Monday morning was "There are likely to be fuel blockades this week - panic buying has started". Now it's human nature for anyone hearing this to get their tank filled up, and I don't criticise anyone who did.

However, had the press and TV had not played a large part in stirring a molehill into a mountain, I daresay the protestors would have had even less success than the miniscule success that they are giving themselves credit for. It would have been a complete non-event without the clowns in the media.

3. oxygenuk

oxygenuk
    Banned