1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just set up my beamax screen

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Bristol Pete, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Hi,

    Hung my BEAMAX manual 16:9 screen today. Purchased it from www.discounttv.co.uk for a great price.

    Screen is superb. I recommend BEAMAX :smashin:

    Cheers,

    Cap :hiya:
     
  2. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    got my one, but havent hung it up yet. my hs50 is arriving monday so cant wait :D

    thank god my landlord is the helpful type :)
     
  3. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,887
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +939
    Is it a fixed frame or pull down?
     
  4. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    pull down. bit awkward since i cant attach it normally. some figuring out to do to get this up
     
  5. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94
    What is the width of the Beamax screen housing?

    I have maximum diagonal space of 80". I want to know the max size screen I can get in it.

    Thanks.
     
  6. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    just measured mine for you and the entire width is 8 foot 2 inches
     
  7. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +37
    hi capt.
    which beamax screen did you get?
    i'm awaiting delivery of my 106" beamax R-series in black.
    was wondering if anyone has one of these already and if so could they tell me what they're like???
    paul
     
  8. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94

    thx I guess I need the Beamax R-Black 100228 (77inch) Screen to allow for the frame/casing
     
  9. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Actually it is being returned. The housing is/was damaged and now the screen in finally up and in use, I cannot get it to retract....

    Very odd :(

    Have spoken to discounttv and I am returning it as best I can in exchange for a credit note as moving in three weeks so not bothered about either fixing a new screen up or storing it until move is complete.

    Seriously I have tried to retract it for hours and it simply wont go back up!!!

    ooo eer missus :devil:

    Picture does not quite highlight damage and problem, which I think has upset the roller/mechanism.

    Cap :)
     
  10. benji_m

    benji_m
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes, good old city link!

    An there was me telling you to tug harder!
     
  11. paul1672

    paul1672
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    norfolk
    Ratings:
    +37
    i feel for you capt.
    i too received a damaged beamax screen but i've since re-ordered another one with delivery direct from beamax so hoping that'll sort out the possibility of damage from city link.....
    many thanks to discounttv and beamax for coming to a better solution.....(hopefully).
     
  12. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Yep, top service from Pamela and benji. Really appreciate it, hence why my custom stays with them when changing the screen.

    However, City Link are a nightmare. Have had so many bad experiences with this carrier.

    Captain Benefit.
     
  13. tomos

    tomos
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    mine was delivered direct from them and it arrived dent free :D
     
  14. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94

    Damn cannot get mine to go up either !

    Must be a manufacture fault !
     
  15. phelleruk99

    phelleruk99
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi
    interested in the beamax screen was wondering whether there are any fixing rings at the ends as i wish to hang mine from ceiling hooks so can be taken down when not in use. pretty sure the orays have them but not sure of the r-black
    cheers pete
     
  16. Bristol Pete

    Bristol Pete
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bristol.
    Ratings:
    +321
    Hi mate,

    Cannot reply to this as went for a fixed screen as a replacement and then my bloody landlord decided to sell the flat....

    However, from recollection, there are ceiling hooks.

    Pete.
     
  17. FoxyMulder

    FoxyMulder
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The R - Black does have ends for fixing hooks and hanging from a ceiling as well as the option to screw into a wall ( i couldn't do either so ended up cutting the screen from the metal casing and attaching to the wall a different way and it works superbly and i'm well pleased with the picture )

    The one i got is a 106inch inch model and is extremely long and heavy so bear that in mind when it arrives if you buy it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...