1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just received a Toshiba 32ZP18P...but problems!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by steve35, Aug 19, 2001.

  1. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive just got the above telly set up but have found the following..<br />1.In 14:9 mode the black line is a lot wider on the right than the left.<br />2.When using Sky, the banners at the bottom of the screen can only be half read as they disapear off the bottom. (and the top).<br />3.The screen is noticeably rotated clockwise.<br />Can anybody advise me re the above?<br />Also, various other questions I have are....<br />1.Whats the best settings for brightness etc?<br />2.100 hertz or natural?<br />3.DNR..on or off?<br />4.Best set up for surround sound? placing of speakers, tone, superwoofer settings etc?<br />I really would appreciate any responses to this post.<br />Cheers.<br />Steve.
     
  2. Pauleylad

    Pauleylad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    Contrast 46-49 I usually find is good<br />Brightness I have set at 63<br />Colour at 52<br />Tint 00<br />DNR off<br />Scan I have at natural.<br />I would get an engineer in to see if he can tweak the geometery.

    Good luck<br />Paul
     
  3. Markster

    Markster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Steve

    Was your stand ok?.

    I have some extra holes drilled into mine (they don't go all the way through though).

    And the underneath of the stand bottom and top piece were totally unfinished in the grey coating.<br />You cannot see it when the stands up but out of interest was yours like this?
     
  4. Pauleylad

    Pauleylad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    Forgot to mention Sharpness at -30.

    Paul
     
  5. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Pauleylad, I'll try those settings.<br />With regard to the stand. Yes mine wasnt completely painted but as you say its not noticeable at all.This is a 'feature' on a lot of stands like this. My Panasonic was the same. Where were the extra holes you were talking about? The only problem with the stand I did have was sticking the silver plastic corners on. The rubber bits didnt fit properly into the holes and when I forced them, the ends of the sharp plastic went through the rubber bits..if that makes any sense?! <br />Cheers<br />Steve.
     
  6. steve k

    steve k
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    Messages:
    560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +8
    <img src="mad.gif" border="0"> well Steve can't understand why you are having these problems as far as the reviwe in HCC are concerned the 36ZP18P has a very good right up. <br /> I would have thought that the 32 would be the same.<br /> Do HCC get different sets to test than the one's that are sold to us? or do the manufacturers make sure they send out a decent set I.E. one that has been ckecked properly before sending it out, for reviwe.<br /> There seems to be alot of difference in these tellys everyone seems to be having problems with the sets except Home cinema choice.<br /> I would not have thought there was not much diff between the two sets if anythink the 36 would be worse? <br /> Let me know what you think.<br /> Steve K <img src="mad.gif" border="0">
     
  7. Pauleylad

    Pauleylad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    That can't be right Steve cos the review set had the dark bands down the side of the tv.<br />I'm happy now with mine now after a geometery tweak and fluctuation tweak.

    Paul
     
  8. plb

    plb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "well Steve can't understand why you are having these problems as far as the review in HCC are concerned the 36ZP18P has a very good right up."<br /> <br />Also check out the excellent review in What Video &TV. <br /> <br />"There seems to be alot of difference in these tellys everyone seems to be having problems with the sets except Home cinema choice."

    Steve, I would not go as far as to say that everyone is having problems with their sets. I have had my 36ZP18P for two weeks now and it is absolutely stunning in every way with no geometry problems and has an excellent picture including off air pictures. <img src="smile.gif" border="0"> <img src="smile.gif" border="0"> <br /> <br /> "Let me know what you think."

    I am very fussy and I agree with both reviews as concluding that the only set to possibly rival it for picture quality is the 36&#8221; Sony but it leaves all the other competitors dead in the water. Finally it has to be said to get the most out of the set you have to take your time and set it up properly, I started in picture mode 2 and then adjusted contrast to 49, brightness 54, colour 33, tint 00, sharpness 00, scan mode natural, dnr auto. Interestingly if you start in picture mode 3 you may find the settings are different to produce a similar picture to that in picture mode 2. Can other users confirm this and what picture mode you started in before making adjustments? <br />Paul<br /> <img src="smile.gif" border="0">
     
  9. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice so far, keep it coming!<br />Ive now also noticed that black, especially at the sides of the screen is definately grey, and not a particularly dark grey at that.<br />What sort of sound set ups are people using? Im finding them all fairly disapointing with speech quite hard to hear, and fairly non existant sound from the rear speakers. <br />Am I a perfectionist or just doing things wrong?<br />Cheers<br />Steve.
     
  10. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I just watched the Arsenal v Leeds match tonight and the picture looked terrible, The grass was blurry and the screen looked 'dirty' when the cameras were moving. Is this normal?
     
  11. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "Am I a perfectionist or just doing things wrong?"

    Steve - sounds like you're doing something wrong!

    I'm not having any problems with the football but I'm watching through NTL Dig not SKY, so maybe it's a Sky issue - can any Sky using ZP owners advise!

    Soundwise you shouldn't be having problems with speach and output to the rears like you describe. I find normal broadcasts best using the Prologic mode, rarely using any of the special effects modes. I've not really needed to play around with the sound setting much either, other than to set the Centre level to 55 rather than the default 50 but I do play with this setting on some DVDs where the dialouge is sometimes too low (not the teles fault).

    For DVD's, the special effects options don't come up when you press the sound mode button if you've got it attached to your DVD correctlyit should just automatically pick up the 5.1 or give you a reduced set of options if it's a DTS or non-5.1 DVD. How are you finding it OK on DVD's?

    Cheers<br />OG
     
  12. vs

    vs
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    As for sound, I also find ProLogic better and I also raised central to 55 rather than 50. For the pictures, have you set your sky digibox to output RGB rather than PAL? (You should use SCART 1 for this to work.)

    \vs
     
  13. se_warner

    se_warner
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2000
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sandhurst, Berks,UK
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  14. Pauleylad

    Pauleylad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    200
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Blackpool
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have the 36" Tosh and Sky Dig and the picture was great. What do you have your picture settings at Steve?

    Paul
     
  15. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, during the match I was playing around with my settings but nothing seemed to help. The grass never seemed in focus, the players were blurred far away, and if the camera was panning I could see dirty vertical lines across the screen. I had an engineer out but I wasnt in at the time, and according to my wife he wasnt the brightest of lads. He told her to adjust the tint and that should solve all my problems! I dont think he even attempted the service menu.<br />I am majorly ****ed off! Oh and sound is fine now. If there is one question I would like to know it is...do other folk have the dirty vertical lines whenever the camera pans, especially on lighter backgrounds?<br />Cheers <br />Steve.
     
  16. steve35

    steve35
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    PS I dont know why I got **** I only said p..i..s..s..!
     
  17. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  18. kaspj

    kaspj
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doubledoom,

    Thank you for this pearl of wisdom. This has solved a RGB display problem on my 3 year old Tosh.

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...