1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just ordered Canon A80

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by micks_address, Nov 13, 2003.

1. micks_address

micks_address

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +172
    Hi folks -

Just orderd a Canon A80 from amazon.co.uk as its the cheapest price by a mile i could get the camera to Ireland. I checked out all the reviews and comments and the further i dug the more confused i got so i just went for it.

Its our first digital camera - before this we just had a canon automatic which was grand. My Fiancee has been pining after a zoom camera for ages as her cousin has one and her pictures of out little son always look way better than ours. She has a pentax camera with zoom lens - its not digital but the pictures do look good - she usually gets 7*5 prints i think.

As you'll have guessed i'm a complete novice when it comes to photography. I was just wondering how the A80 photo's will compare to the pentax pics? Will the quality be as good.?

How is the zoom quality on the canon - is it reasonable?

The other thing is we don't have a full time pc in the house - i sometimes borrow a laptop from work but will that be much of a hindrence? Do you really need a pc to have a digital camera?

Last question is around memory cards. I haven't ordered an extra one but i know i probably will eventually as the one with the camera is just 32mb.

Amazon have this http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0000A42WH/ref=br_lf_li_1_2/026-8471867-1392454

but not sure what the quality is like - one of the reviews say's the card crashed after a couple of pics.

Any feedback on the camera choice appreciated.

Cheers,
    Mick

2. seany

seany
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1