1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just ordered a Sharp LC32GD1

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Krysstel, Jan 14, 2005.

1. Krysstel

Krysstel

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    After 6 mnths thinking about it, reading various forums etc, I've finally made the first purchase on the way to my first home cinema system. :clap:
    I'm planning a system based around an HTPC with NEC DVD as film source with video signal to the TV via DVI and audio signal to a Yamaha RX-V650 receiver via SPDIF. The PC will probably have a Sapphire Radeon 9600XT Atlantis 256MB graphic card.

As a complete beginner, jumping straight from stereo amp and CD-player, I'll probably have countless questions when everything's in place, but what I'm initally worried about is picture size. With a DVI connection from the PC graphic card am I going to get 1366x768 with plug-and-play or will I have to do more; powerstrip etc ? And what is powerstrip !?

Also, has anyone any comments about using a PC-DVD as film source ? I'm planning to keep my NAD CD as music source but am not against ditching it if a freestanding DVD player is a better idea.

Any thoughts and/or comments would be much appreciated. :)

2. Black Custard

Black Custard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Kyrsstel..

You have ordered a great set there, I hope that you are very happy with it. :)
    When you connect up your PC to the screen you are not going to get 1366 x 768 resolution, by all accounts you are going to end up with something like 1280 x 768, leaving you with black lines down the side of the screen.
    To solve this issue you need to get yourself a piece of software called Powerstrip http://entechtaiwan.net/util/ps.shtm which will allow you to tinker with the display settings and achieve a resolution very close to that of the screen. :thumbsup: