Just ordered a Samsung LE40R87BDX!! how do I setup good? heard theres a DVD is there

Discussion in 'Samsung TVs Forum' started by MrMister111, Apr 17, 2007.

Tags:
  1. MrMister111

MrMister111

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +141
    Hi I took the plunge after the Sony 40S2530 went up in price (is the LE40R87BD a match for this Sony?)

Just ordered a Samsung LE40R87BDX!! how do I setup good? heard theres a DVD, is there.

I am not a piture expert and normally dont mess about much, ie my 26" LCD upstairs I just use the inbuilt movie pic mode for everything.

Is there a DVD or what is good for setting up, how do I do it.

Any help greatly appreciated please.
    I will be using it for SD DVD, Virgin V+ SD and HD (whats there not much I know), and Xbox 360.

Does thr gaming mode work for Xbox 360 gamig in these or is it a gimmick.
    thanks

2. Andy98765

Andy98765

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,367
    A THX setup is available on Pirates of the Caribbean or Monsters INC that I know of. Just make sure your DVD player is set to 16:9 not some 4:3 setup and RGB out on SCART and connected with a QUALITY cable. If your DVD has Component out with progressive scan then I would use this method as it gives a better quality picture.
    Just make sure on anything connected that the aspect is set to 16:9.

3. MrMister111

MrMister111

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +141
    Does this do picture teaking as everyone seems to talk about ie contrast levels, blck levels etc etc?

My DVD All-in-one 5.1 is pretty old (a silver (so yesterday ;) LG 3520) so it only does composite I think, Now I am getting a Balck LCD and a Black glass stand Im gonna look for another one (cheap) black with a HDMI that does upscaling I hope any ideas?

Can you not buy a setup DVD? I remember years ago I had something like it for a old VCR recorder?

cheers

4. Andy98765

Andy98765

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings: