Just noticed Netflix on my appletv 2

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by instigator, Jan 9, 2012.

Tags:
  1. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    In USA it's great as its got or had lots of tv shows and I think a fresher mix of movies than lovefilm...

    Does anyone know if it will have the same content or will it be a smaller mix of uk only stuff?
     
  2. amardilo

    amardilo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    5,363
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +1,728
    Netflix just launched in the UK and I just signed up this morning so I haven't had a look through everything but it doesn't seem to have as much content as the US version but it does have some good stuff on their including films, TV shows (which includes UK stuff from the BBC).

    I guess over time they will sign licencing deals with the content owners for more films and shows to appear on the service.

    The main advantage it has over Lovefilm for me is that there is content in HD :clap:.
     
  3. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    I'm watching it right now - an old episode of spooks, which it has all seasons.

    In terms of functionality, its good quality, not far off the original quality and the videos start just as fast as my network shared stuff, and possibly quicker than iTunes rentals.

    Anyway, the main issue, content.

    Flicking through there is some decent tv series available, and there are some good films dotted around. However, the majority of the content is older b grade tv shows and movies.

    I just hope they add more content as they go. For example, their blog listed Senna (the movie), Lost, Back to the future, the god father... all of which are unavailable in the UK.
     
  4. I Am Custard

    I Am Custard
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,861
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +938
    I am sure it will get batter for content. It only started this morning.

    I am chuffed. I have been waiting a long time. With this and LOVEFiLM on the blu ray player I can finally get rid of SKY Movies
     
  5. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    To clarify on my previous statement which is unfair, the 2 films i mentioned, back to the future and the godfather, they are listed in the iPad app but when checking netflix USA through a US proxy, they are only available for DVD rental over there.

    Either way the UK does still lack some content but i hope it gets better with time.

    Just have a good broadband data cap.

    HD films are up to 3GB (optional quality bump in the settings) and by default the data rate is 0.7GB, i tested it this morning and it peaked around 750KB/Sec
     
  6. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    They had all the episodes of The Regular show in USA... But you can't get in in the uk anywhere until recently in iTunes put as SD quality... Argh...

    Have they got Regular Show in uk Netflix? It's a cartoon...
     
  7. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    Oh good grief, went to sign up on the website to try it out and it looks like I have to join using Facebook... Ha ha, lame... How stupid is that?
     
  8. daveevans87

    daveevans87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,966
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +73
    Look at the small line of text below the Facebook sign up - gives you the option to sign up by e-mail....

    Dave
     
  9. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77


    image-210023066.jpg

    Hmmm, maybe the iPad interface is different?
     
  10. daveevans87

    daveevans87
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,966
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +73
    Sorry

    Did not look on my iPad - just have and it is not there. Sorry :blush:

    Dave
     
  11. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    Oh well, looks like their frontend on appletv has just died... Heh...

    Really not happy about their insistence on signing in via Facebook and automatically sharing your detailed, likes and viewing etc... Why should I give this company access to anything beyond my billing details? Crazy... Doesnt privacy matter anymore? What about the privacy of my friends that id be breaching to give to Netflix? Bonkers....
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2012
  12. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    I signed up on my mac without fb

    Just login on the iPad and iPhone and press skip on the Facebook integration
     
  13. bezzab

    bezzab
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    my appletv2 is on 4.4.3, do i need to upgrade to 4.4.4 to use netflix on it?, don't want to if i can avoid it as its jailbroken so i can use xmbc with my network drive.

    thx.
     
  14. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    It just showed up today on mine... I've got the latest version from like a month or two or three ago... So I didn't have to do anything... I'm guessing if it hasn't popped up on your "Internet" tab of your screen then you will have to upgrade your appletv os?
     
  15. Trist

    Trist
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Says 'Netflix is currently unavailable - Try again later' when I try and open it on my ATV2. I'm guessing lots of people have signed up tonight and are all streaming at the same time trying it out.

    Have signed up for the 1 month trial so will give it a whirl over the next couple of weeks and see how it goes. There seems a reasonable amount of content. Nice to see some documentaries and BBC content and available too.
     
  16. MikeMcr

    MikeMcr
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    Pull the plug and reboot - mine got stuck with that message until I rebooted.

    Has anyone got 5.1 sound to work? The PS3 Netflix app allows 5.1 sound but the same shows/movies on Apple TV are just stereo.

    I know the US got an update for Netflix to support Apple TV in 5.1 so we seem to be missing that?
     
  17. Trist

    Trist
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4,662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    Thanks! Will give that a try.

    Watch a little on my iMac and iPhone. All seems nice and effortless. Impressed so far, once I get the ATV running downstairs I'll be delighted. If they can get the library increased I can see myself keeping the sub for a while.

    One thing that stands out as missing and a obvious oversight (unless I'm being blind) is the ability to mark to watch later or create a list of any kind. Just had a browse of the catalogue and there was plenty that I wanted to watch. Would be nice to have them marked somehow.
     
  18. OldSkoO1

    OldSkoO1
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    569
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +29
    Same

    The only way i found to mark items to watch is to play them for a second and then go back and keep browsing. That way they end up in your recently watched.

    Bit messy but beats keeping written lists.
     
  19. gruffy

    gruffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    5.1 definitely works on a JB ATV 4.4.4. However, I was watching content from the US at the time. Haven't tested to see if the same content plays differently on the PS3.
     
  20. nashmills

    nashmills
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone please confirm that British content is available in Dolby 5.1 on the Apple TV please? I've tried with my Mac Mini but only getting stereo.

    Netflix with HD video and surround sound might just get me to buy an ATV.
     
  21. instigator

    instigator
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,492
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +77
    Via appletv 2 Netflix has some content in HD and 5.1... My Denon 1610 automatically switches to Dolby digital 5.1

    Found a movie on Netflix in hd that I could only find in SD DVD in uk... Hilarious....

    Not sure what the percentage is hd but not everything is...
     
  22. King Tones

    King Tones
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    35,961
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In The House Of Flies
    Ratings:
    +17,599
    I guess you would have to update the ATV2 for Netflix to appear on a 4.3 Jailbroken ATV2 ??
    Or am I missing something as I cant find it on mine :confused:
     
  23. rodd1000

    rodd1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Ratings:
    +437
    I think it's great! Can finally look at dumping sky! Great value for money providing the content continues to grow along with HD and DD playback.

    The standard res stuff still looks good though and it resumes from where you last watched if you decide to have a browse around!

    Just what the UK needed!
     
  24. gruffy

    gruffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Some people have said it's appeared automatically for them. If not, just go to your settings and set the iTunes location to the US and it'll appear under internet.
     
  25. King Tones

    King Tones
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    35,961
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In The House Of Flies
    Ratings:
    +17,599
    Thats what happened with the TV Shows tab the other week it just appeared so was expecting the same.
    Will try that later, will it then let me set it back ?
     
  26. gruffy

    gruffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yup. It's not a permanent thing. I don't use iTunes Store from the Apple TV personally.
     
  27. chrisowe

    chrisowe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    467
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Anywhere
    Ratings:
    +16
    Had a go of this last night. Originally got stuck on the 'Netflix is unavailable' screen but as mentioned a reboot sorted that out.
    The selection of movies and tv series seems to be a bit limited at the moment but that will improve I guess.

    A major plus is that it can stream HD content unlike Lovefilm and Sky. The quality seems to adjust depending on your network speed.

    With this, iCloud and iTunes match it now makes the Apple TV a useful device.

    Chris
     
  28. King Tones

    King Tones
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    35,961
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In The House Of Flies
    Ratings:
    +17,599
    Netflix now appearing on mine after I updated and did the latest jailbreak. Its a great feature and can see me and the missus using it alot.
     
  29. alexm3uk

    alexm3uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    i really interested in this as it should just be easy to sit down and watch a film ,

    my only concern is data usage ?? how much does a standard film use data wise ?? I'm guessing about 1gb for a sd film

    anyone know ???
     
  30. gruffy

    gruffy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    There are estimated numbers based on the quality of the stream in the Netflix home page. Where you configure the quality of the stream.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice