Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

just need a few pointers - pioneer setup

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by cracken, Jul 5, 2005.

Tags:
  1. cracken

    cracken
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +39
    pio 434 HDE Plasma
    pio 868avi-s DVD
    Denon 3801 amp (spot the weak link)
    xbox

    now im using HDMI from the DVD to the plasma direct that works a treat, but in the future i want to connect my XB to the plasma as well via a decent connection - component would be best.

    right...

    now the plasma only allows either HDMI or component as input 3, so i cant use both as far as i can see....

    what amp should i get to connect all these together, would like to keep HDMI for the dvd still :) and how would it all connect together :)
     
  2. cracken

    cracken
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +39
    to follow...

    anyone know of an amp that can have hdmi in / component in and say hdmi out for both ?
     
  3. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,828
    Denon A11XV. Has HDMI switching as well as Analog to HDMI up-conversion. Just bear in mind that it will only up-convert the signal and not the resolution. It's not got built-in scaling so the output resolution will be the same as the input resolution e.g 480P in, 480P out.
     
  4. wannabeav

    wannabeav
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    otv, Have a search for HDMI / DVI Switching amps. A number of mid - top end amps are incorporating this now (some Marantz / Denon / Yamaha have upconversion). The Denon AVCA1XV also features up scaling, but for the money you'd want it to!

    Failing that you can get switches to allow multiple inputs into a display.

    Is there no way to have hdmi in and component in to the plamsa? - might be worth a search on the plasma forum?
     
  5. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,447
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,828
    The A1XV as yet doesn't have Analog to HDMI up-conversion although it does have standard video up & down-conversion and scaling. It's due to get an upgrade that includes analog to HDMI up-conversion sometime in the future. :)
     
  6. wannabeav

    wannabeav
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good point. My trouble has always been waiting for the next big thing but at 40+kg that was too big! (and way over budget!)
     
  7. cracken

    cracken
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    colchester
    Ratings:
    +39
    thanks for the comments

    the pio 434hde has component and hdmi both on input 3 :(

    well special of pioneer that one :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice