1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just joined AE500 club

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by andrew constant, Mar 15, 2004.

  1. andrew constant

    andrew constant
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +10
    as i am new to pj,s i am interested in what settings you use to get the best out of your ae500 thanks.
     
  2. SamirP

    SamirP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,232
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    South Of The River
    Ratings:
    +32
    Hi Andrew
    The settings that each person uses will be slightly different due to the envioment they project in. Your best bet would a calibration disk like Avia or DVE.
    You can always use the the one on THX dvd's like Star Wars Ep 1 or Ep 2.

    :)
    I'll post my settings when I get home ;)
     
  3. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I think this has been said before but its really down to personal taste. Use an avia disc. Also I beileve that all LCD panels are slightly different so posting settings is useless....
     
  4. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Think you meant "useless" ;)

    As said, get a calibration disc & follow the instructions (hope you've got a few hours to kill if using DVE - they do go on quite a bit :D).

    Different sources, environments, screens etc... You get the picture (which hopefully will be better after calibration :)).

    Best of luck.

    :smoke:
     
  5. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
  6. G a f f e r

    G a f f e r
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,907
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    U.K.
    Ratings:
    +491
    yes, use the avia disc.
    brief but exhaustive if you want it to be....

    Also, you'll need to alter the settings for EACH different input.
    eg, setup using AVIA when viewing via component, but these settings may be different if you then play a console vis s-video, so you'll need to setup again viewing through this input (and so on for each input)
    You can store up to three individual settings into memory (I have one for DVD via component at night, one for comp during day, and the last for s-video from ps2).

    Someone is selling the AVIA disc on these forums (type in a search).....very prompt service....great disc :)
     
  7. krlock

    krlock
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    however, if you dont have avia, some people on avsforum have posted some typical settings which work pretty well
     
  8. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've said it before & I'll say it again. Each unit should be calibrated by its owner. Others' settings are pretty much useless unless they've the same source, screen, viewing environment & projector!

    May as well stick with the "default" settings if you're unwilling to at least use a THX "optimode" DVD or calibration disc.

    :smoke:
     
  9. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,061
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    Very dissapointed with DVE . Much prefer Avia or even the original VE.
     

Share This Page

Loading...