1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just had a demo of A300!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Captain chaos, May 21, 2003.

  1. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey!

    Just been into John Lewis and demoed an A300, and it looked very nice!

    It was only connected through the phono jacks and the image (Shrek) was gorgeous.

    How much more improved would the picture be if it were via prog scan?
     
  2. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Hmm. You say phono jacks - plural. Do you mean the yellow composite feed or the red green and blue component connectors.

    If the former - a fair bit (understatement :) )
    If the latter - depends on the quality of the PS player.
     
  3. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No it wasn't the Y Gr and X or whatever the component outs are labelled, it was the bog standard video outs, with the yellow, red and white leads.

    I checked the rear of the projector and the component sockets were not connected.
     
  4. gothmog

    gothmog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sunny Shipley
    Ratings:
    +0
    LOL, the Red and White leads, I bet that internal speaker sounded fantastic :D :D

    AS Messiah says, component is more than a bit better :)

    -- Jon
     
  5. Gazkicka54

    Gazkicka54
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Saw a AE300 today, not in perfect surroundings... A subjective viewpoint was to say - I was blown away!!!

    They had it for sale @£2100, phew???

    Regards
    Gaz
     
  6. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +17
    Which John Lewis was this ?
     
  7. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    I presume you mean the AE300? The only reason I ask is that I spoke to John Lewis about projectors and they told me they would'nt/don't stock them....

    I was keen to purchase through them because of there excellent customer care and (I guess) 2 year warranty which helps.

    Tim
     
  8. moss

    moss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    man i like this board just found it yesterday!

    my 60 lumin sharp xv finally blew it's bulb ( after some 5 years)and after reading the good word about the panny 300 I ordered one of this morning.

    My sharp was ok (even at 60 lumins) a little dark obviously! but watchable....despite the screen door looking more like a barn door!....so now with 800 lovely lumens in the new pj I'm well excited!!!!!!!!! it arrives tommorow just in time for my superbit Gladiator dvd to hit the doormat too!

    cracking price £1,461.50
     
  9. themmings

    themmings
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +4
    where did you get it from at that price moss?

    Tim
     
  10. moss

    moss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its John Lewis in Touchwood Court, Solihull.

    There aren't that many in the country, had a fair trek to get there.

    They had a Pan AE300 and a HS2.

    The Panny was bar far the better of the two, with next to no screendoor visible, I was very impressed with what was;

    A) bad lighting conditions and

    B) not setup optimised (component out not used etc).
     
  12. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I was told that using component outputs effectivly doubles the resolution (not in reality, but in perception). As how a normal display device works is by scanning the even numbered lines on the screen, followed by the odd numbered lines, 50 or 60 times per second. So at any one time you are only seeing either 257 lines for NTSC, or 317 for PAL.

    What a component fed image does is display all the lines at once, leading to a more stable, higher quality image.

    Or so I am led to believe.

    I have still yet to see a component fed display device.
     
  13. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,814
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +50
    jeez... I'm glad I imported mine from Japan. Not only have I had the use of it for 6 months, it cost me around £500 less then Komplett's price :)
     
  14. theritz

    theritz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +27
    Captain Chaos,

    Someone is leading you astray !!

    Component video separates the colour and luminosity components of the video signal - it has no effect on resolution or on the number of lines, or on whether frames are displayed interlaced or progressively. What may be influencing is that progressive scan images are output (from a device that is capable of outputting them) using component video.

    An LCD projector displays it's image in progressive scan mode - i.e. it combines the frames of interlaced signals and displays full frames in succession, even if it's fed a composite video feed from a VCR or whatever. Some projectors don't perform this task very well, although there are some which are equipped with proprietary de-interlacing chips which do it excellently.

    For further details on the mysteries of imterlaced and progressive scan signals, check out the prog. scan part of the forums and remember that Google is always your friend.

    All the best,

    Sean G.
     
  15. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Component...ha...

    Go digital man - it is the 21st century after all - the "digital age" :clap:

    DVI is where it's happening (soon to be HDMI).

    Yep, good post Sean. Component is better, prog. component better again & viewing any decent PJ with a lousy composite feed is sacreligious IMO. But being so impressed by composite only suggests you'll be blown away by a good PS component feed.

    :smoke:
     
  16. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question,

    Is progressivly scanned NTSC, as good as "native" PAL? - (not progressivly scanned)

    Or is the prog scan NTSC better?
     
  17. Captain chaos

    Captain chaos
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...