Just got Sky Q, couple of questions please

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Fat_Tony, Aug 23, 2018.

  1. Fat_Tony

    Fat_Tony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,066
    Hi folks,

    Just had a basic 1 box installation as I was actually ringing to cancel and they gave me a dirt cheap deal.

    Ive tried to turn off standby so it doesnt switch off in the night (ive programmed the remote to turn on and off the TV so dont want Sky Q in standby when the TV comes on) I was sure I had switched it off but when I woke this morning the box was in standby. Any advice? Did I need to save the setting perhaps? I couldnt see an option.

    My other issue is its asking for a pin for various downloads and recordings. Again, I thought I had disabled this but apparently not.

    Any advice appreciated thanks. Loving the general layout and how it all works, its a big improvement on the old set up. Interestingly, as I live right on the NI/Republic border - it now allows me to download via my Irish ISP, the old box wouldnt let me.
     
  2. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    You cannot turn off all PIN requests - they are a legal requirement for things like viewing age restricted content before the watershed and manual recordings.This has been discussed innumerable times over the last 20 plus years so try a forum search for further info
     
  3. Fat_Tony

    Fat_Tony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,066
    Its asking for pins for recordings that were previously fine on my last Sky box so I doubt most of the innumerable discussions from the past 20 years relate to my new Sky Q box unfortunately.
     
  4. John

    John
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,570
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,217
    Just a vanilla SkyHD user here, but I have found pin requests to be a bit hit and miss over the years. Possibly it's just sky stuff that has it nailed, and stuff you'd think would be pin controlled from the 'terrestrial' broadcasters isn't, or sometimes is.
    As I have a button on the harmony preset with the pin I never let it worry me
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2018
  5. Fat_Tony

    Fat_Tony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,066
    Good shout John, hadnt thought of the harmony

    It's not a big deal, just an initial observation really. My sky pin and bankcard pin are the same, possibly time to change if I have to share it with the family :)

    The standby issue seems to have fixed itself after a few days
     
  6. davemurgatroyd2

    davemurgatroyd2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    8,600
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +1,335
    My reply was on why it cannot be turned off completely - if
    you had given this additional info in the OP then my reply would have included similar comment to @John
     
  7. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +87
    I was thinking about getting sky q but I dont really want it for 4k stuff, is there much 4k stuff on it.
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,758
    Yes - of a kind.:D
     
  9. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +87
    Sorry did word that correct, I would be interested in sky q if it had a decent amount of 4k content, is there alot of content in 4k, im not that interested in recording 10m channels at the same time or watching in another room, Im more interested in actual 4k content.
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,758
    Some films most of them of no interest to me, though who knows what others like.
    Some "box sets" and that type of thing.
    Some football and "Formula One" whatever that is.
    Some pretty stills.
     
  11. tolmie

    tolmie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,166
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +87
    Thanks for the info, think ill stick with what i have just now. For me sky q is a hard sell, im sure for others its perfect for them.
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,098
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,758
    Yes, that £12 is the one thing they don't reduce.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice