Just got Sky+ How long Can I Record ????

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by B Caine, Apr 18, 2004.

  1. B Caine

    B Caine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barrow North UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    As the title says, it`s a standard box with 40g hdd, if I set it to record all it can how many hours would I get? Many thanks for any replies.
     
  2. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think it's around 20 hours.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    AS sacd says the average is 20 hours but recording bitrates are variable so it could far less if you record SKY's premium movies/sports (as well as other high bitrate channels) or far more if you record radio or low bitrates TV channels.
    SKY+ records exactly what is broadcast with no compression which is why there is no difference between a live broadcast and the recording of that broadcast (PQ wise).
     
  4. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep its 20 hours ish, But when you record from sky movies 1,2, or 3, not only is it a high bitrate but it records the 5.1 cinema sound track, and so this takes up even more space :(
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    Which is a good thing as it's criminal to have SKY+ and a movie subscription and not use a 5.1 surround setup :)
     
  6. B Caine

    B Caine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barrow North UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Many thanks for that, now I know why people put 120g hdd in their box`s.
     
  7. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes im working on it :)

    We just bought a nice TV so i think my parents monies really tight at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...