Just got Sky+ How long Can I Record ????

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by B Caine, Apr 18, 2004.

  1. B Caine

    B Caine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barrow North UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    As the title says, it`s a standard box with 40g hdd, if I set it to record all it can how many hours would I get? Many thanks for any replies.
     
  2. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I think it's around 20 hours.
     
  3. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    AS sacd says the average is 20 hours but recording bitrates are variable so it could far less if you record SKY's premium movies/sports (as well as other high bitrate channels) or far more if you record radio or low bitrates TV channels.
    SKY+ records exactly what is broadcast with no compression which is why there is no difference between a live broadcast and the recording of that broadcast (PQ wise).
     
  4. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep its 20 hours ish, But when you record from sky movies 1,2, or 3, not only is it a high bitrate but it records the 5.1 cinema sound track, and so this takes up even more space :(
     
  5. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +975
    Which is a good thing as it's criminal to have SKY+ and a movie subscription and not use a 5.1 surround setup :)
     
  6. B Caine

    B Caine
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barrow North UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    Many thanks for that, now I know why people put 120g hdd in their box`s.
     
  7. chilpillphil3

    chilpillphil3
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes im working on it :)

    We just bought a nice TV so i think my parents monies really tight at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice