just got panny ae100 some .q's

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by obiwan, Dec 13, 2002.

  1. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Im so pleased with my first venture into PJ's.

    The picture is just great. Ordered Tuesday at komplett arrived today.

    Is the picture quality much better on component? I think its great already but I havnt seen it setup correctly.

    Does the prov help much for DVD or just for SKy?

    How do you check for dreaded DP's?

    I was going to get RPTV but pleased I didnt.

    How do I connect Sky to PJ?

    thx
     
  2. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    Glad you are happy with your choice, so am I.;)

    1. Yes, the PQ is better with component, but the RGB computer input is the best.
    2. The ProV will give you better picture on all sources. (maybe except Prog-scan DVD player if you have that)
    3. To check for dead pixels the best way is to have a static Red, Green and Blue picture, and check one color at the time.
    4. Sky to PJ is only possible with composite video without any converters. But you can use a Pro-v or simular, or RGB scart to component converter, this will give better PQ.

    Have ansvered this as good as i can without checking anything so i'll leave it to others to correct me.:rolleyes:

    Good luck with your new PJ, and look through all the other threads about it. (red light of death, Hoya FLD filter, and other interesting threads)
     
  3. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    How would I use RGB to proV, would I need Component out on DVD. I have Pioneer 717 - No Component Out.

    I guess I would need RGB-Scart leads to proV from Sky and DVD.
    Then PS2 would go in where?? Im not to sure :confused:

    Then, I guess I will need the VGA cable from proV to PJ.

    thx
     
  4. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    The ProV takes S-video and comosite video in.
    You connect the 717 with S-video to the ProV, then VGA cable to AE100.
    If you have several sources with s-video or composite video you can use a AV-amp as videoswitcher or buy a separate video switcher. What amp do you have?
    It is possible to use scart RGB to S-video swithcer if you have digital cable, often composite or RGB, no s-video.

    keep the questions coming.;)
     
  5. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
  6. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    That Sony has both S-video and composite video in and out, right?

    If so you can connect everything to that, then connect the monitor out on the Sony to the Pro-v and Pro-v to Panny AE100.

    Glad to help.
    Hans
     
  7. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes composite and svid

    Then just a 10m vga cable?
     
  8. sgb

    sgb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,051
    I made a red, green and blue 640x480 jpeg in photoshop then saved it onto my digital camera, then used my camera's video out to the projector to view the pictures.

    You have a 940, so you should have more S-video inputs. Put your DVD player in one, PS2 in another, and Sky (see below) in the third. Use the 'monitor' s-video output to go to the ProV.

    For more flexibility, at least one of your video inputs should have an S-video in and out. You can use this out to go to your TV, so any of your selected inputs can be split to both TV and Prov/Projector. If you do this though, don't use that video input, as this isn't echoed from the output, only the other inputs (the receiver being 'smart'). So you'll need three s-video inputs other than the video one for this to work. I only have two on my 830, so I had to use a switch box.

    For Sky, either use composite straight into the ProV or buy an RGB-S-video converter from Maplins (they sell the keene version) or similar, and feed that into your amp. MUCH better picture quality, and you get the switching convenience. But costs £60. If you are buying a ProV to improve the picture on screen, no point in going back down to composite video for that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice