Just bought - PS51D6900 1st Plasma Tv - Advice - Any Do's / Don'ts or Tips / Tricks ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by brent, Jan 9, 2012.

1. brent

brent
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

As of this Wednesday I'll be the proud owner of my 1st proper TV & as I'm a complete noob, I was wondering if there's anything I should I know?

I'll be running Sky HD initially & an xbox 360.

So far all I know is that there's a 200 hr running in period & not to game for more than hr at a time with any static images on during that period.

Firstly is this correct? & also please could you advise me as to anything else I should know? Calibrating the set? etc etc

-------------------------------------------------

Also whilst I think of it - Its getting delivered to me at work from JL & then i'll be transporting it home in the works van - again anything to look out for or do's / don'ts?

Thanks

Brent

2. Ian Dudley

Ian Dudley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +80
    First thing to do is switch off automatic firmware updates! Not sure what the current auto update release is, but you definitely want to be in control of this yourself as the latest firmware version is broken! By default the set checks every two hours, so you want to switch it off immediately after powering it up.

I've just got a PS59 and I've found that switching to movie mode gives a more natural picture, other than that I'm still working out my set! :)

3. Ian Dudley

Ian Dudley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +80