1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just bought a Toshiba ZP48 and need some help

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by deancraigrose, Mar 30, 2005.

1. deancraigrose

deancraigrose
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a bit new to the modern world of TV.

I did my research and bought the tele but can you help with how to get the most out of it.

What is RGB connection, do I need to use this to get the best picture. Do I need to get a progressive scan DVD player to get the most out of the films I watch?

Any other advice from those more savvy than I or some other users of this TV would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. kismet110

kismet110

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +389
    RGB stands for Red Green Blue and is implemented by use of a fully wired SCART lead.

Providing the device you're attaching to your TV has RGB output via it's SCART sockets(s) you're OK.

A Progressive Scan DVD Player is the one to buy for the best picture (less flicker), bear in mind though that P-Scan DVD players use component connections, not RGB/SCART so if your TV has component inputs (I assume this model does) then that's the way to go.

ALI

3. spocktra

spocktra

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +40
    Dont buy a cheap toshiba for progressive scan,they suck big time.I have had two and the interlaced signal has been much better.

4. red16v

red16v

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, congratulations on buying a super telly - my personal favourite. As Kismet110 has already said RGB is used to get the best of this type of interconnection and you will need a 'fully wired' scart lead - this allows RGB (and audio) and other video signals to pass between various bits of kit.