Just bought a Panasonic E50 and...

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by russraff, Nov 8, 2003.

  1. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    ...its really good!

    After hearing about the lack of RGB in/out on the Toshiba DR-1, I opted for the Panny E50. The RGB picture quality via the E50 is just as good as my Pioneer 656 (which is connected via component) and so is the optically delivered sound. I did have some reservations about the remote, which looked cumbersome. It isn't and works very well, though not as good as the remote supplied with the E20. Recordings in the 2 or 4 hour modes are good and, though the 4 hour mode is starting to become a little ragged, better than VHS.

    So, all in all, very impressed and I would recommend the E50 to others.

    Russell
     
  2. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +19
    I've got one too and am very pleased. I have it connected to the AV amp via the Sky box and an analogue cable. Do you think there would be an improvement if I used the optical cable direct from the E50 to the AV amp?
    I don't want to spend £20 and find that there's no difference.
     
  3. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    You'll need an optical cable if you use the E50 to play 5.1 encoded dvds and want the benefit of digital surround sound. Sound is slightly better with normal recordings through the digital interconnect, but it's not a massive difference. Maplins are selling a combined s-video/optical cable for £4.99 that will do the job - just tear off the s-video bit if you don't need it. As you might imagine, I'm very skeptical about paying a lot of money for digital interconnects!
     
  4. russraff

    russraff
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2000
    Messages:
    2,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +53
    So am I. I have tried expensive and cheap interconnects in both digital flavours. I haven't been able to tell the difference.

    I paid £9 for my optical connection, though it is quite long. I would use the digital connection for all sound out of the E50.

    Russell
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    Just wait until you play with timeslip. It still amazes me after 6 weeks of use.

    Yesterday I made a recording, and then started another. Then I started playing the first while recording the second. :D

    I also like playing the recording back while it is still recording. It saves having to wait until the recording is finished.

    I also recommend using a freeview box to record in RGB on AV2.
     
  6. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have a separate DVD player so won't need the recorder for 5.1 and DTS.
    If I can get an optical cable for £4.99, though, it's worth a try.
    Thanks for the info.
     
  7. dude1971

    dude1971
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I bought my E60 on Friday and it rocks :)
     
  8. sceptic

    sceptic
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Bridgend
    Ratings:
    +19
    Can't find an optical cable for less than £17.
    Any ideas?
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,956
    One thing that confuses me about the E50/E60 is how you transfer stuff from the DVD RAM to a DVD-R ?
     
  10. bobones

    bobones
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    You need a hard drive machine like the HS2 or E100 to do that on the standalone machine. You could also connect up a dvd player that reads RAM or use a PC with a reader or burner that can read RAM and write DVD-R. You'll need authoring software and it's a slow process. Theres a thread about the process further down
     
  11. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    It is not slow with a computer.

    It takes a total of an hour to copy the files to the hard disc, make DVD -/+ compatible files and then burn them.
     
  12. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +768
    I do the RAM to -R thing on the PC, and I have a super quick PC with a Pio 106 burner.
    I'd say it takes about 90 mins if you really know what your doing and you burn at 4x speed.

    It takes about 20 mins to read in the contents of the RAM disc (more if the disc contains different titles.).

    If you want to make decent menu's, then this takes time aswell... it takes me about 10mins to make a nice menu with sub pages and video stills for each chapter links.

    It then takes about 30 mins to compile the new file structure.

    Then finally about 15-20 mins to burn the disc at 4x speed.

    So, in total it takes about 90 minutes, but the results are worth it it for the professional looking menu's you can create.
    You can't create such menus on the HS2 / E100.

    Sometimes this is a pain 'cos you simply don't have the time.
    Then I just use cheap -R media in the Panasonic.
     
  13. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    I have done nice menu's with animation in DVD Author, and it still hasn't taken me longer than about a hour.
     
  14. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    If you want to do a straight RAM to R copy upgrade to e.g LG 4040B, it is a fantastic multiburner RAM->HDD->and then....- or + R, -RW, +RW or back to RAM.

    I am a computer novice and I can use the bundled software with the help of the learned guys on this site and those on the plus rw site

    If not try the S75 to E50 route but the above is cheaper and more flexible

    Ged;)
    PS. comes with neo dvd plus, a dvd authoring and HDD to disc program, as wel as power dvd and B's clip .
     
  15. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    Another vote for the LG as I have it. Apart from PowerDVD, the sofftware is rubbish though.
     
  16. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    Well I can use Neo to create a DVD from the HDD as well as B's clip for the usual stuff.
    No faffing with files etc
     
  17. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    When you want to copy your home made RAM or -R just launch B's clip and do a disc copy....or Neo...so easy.. LG 4040B ... fanastic... heard a 4080 (8XR) is out soon.

    Iam a computer newbie and love my 4040
     
  18. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    What about the RAM being in VRO format rather than VOB?
     
  19. Ged

    Ged
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    nwgarratt,
    I don't understand the file stuff, but a RAM of TV footage I made copied to a +RW disc, though I cannot remeber if it played on a DVD player, I will check it out soon.
     
  20. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    26,437
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,871
    RAM VRO format is different to the normal DVD format and cannot be just copied to a - or + disc. It has to be converted first,

    A full RAM disk has a 4GB VRO file which is basically a MPEG2 file.
     

Share This Page

Loading...