1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jukebox software for PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by mjn, Sep 25, 2004.

  1. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    I'm going to build a PC just for use as CD Jukebox. Basically it'll pull the wav files from my fileserver, so the PC will only be a client.

    Question is, what jukebox software do i use?

    Looking at Ultimate Jukebox, but really want something, where i can design my own interface.

    Ideas people....and i don't mind paying the money if the software is good.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Xlobby has both a user designable interface and is free and is arguably the best, it has a bit of a learning curve to get up and running (but its only really a case of telling it where to look for your music player (winamp or foobar) and where your music collection resides).

    It can be controlled by a pc mouse/ touchscreen or wirelessly from a tablet or PPC, or just a normal remote. It supports the usbuirt which can send as well as receive ir and all without the need for girder as it has its own event manager. You can even turn the playback pc into a multiroom device by adding extra soundcards and provide seperate or synced play.

    Blimy, I sound like an advert :)
     
  3. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    thanks for that, i'll have a look at it! :)
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    just checked it out, and i've realised it was on the list of links to checkout already! But it looks the business.
     
  5. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Another thing thats nice is that it doesn't have to be installed, you just download to where you'd like it to be and its just there, in other words it doesn't leave a load of debris behind if you want to try it out and then decide that its not for you.
     
  6. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    Must second Xlobby, I've tried myHTPC and even looked a Meedio, yet the fact that it is free and as JohnS said there is slightly steep learning curve, but once familair it is very nice to be able to change tracks on the fly with no need for my CRT to be on.

    Also to actually be able to view all you ripped films on a PDA, then actually lauching, makes for the flashiest pronto type remote yet.

    Also migrating to a whole house network is only a soundcard amp and speakers away.

    Rgds

    Dave
     
  7. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    I can't get XLobby to run on the server, in server mode, well at all really. I just get a debug error.
     
  8. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Have you got .net installed?
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    yeah, i've got Framework v1.1 installed.
     
  10. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    MJN...Do you have XP SP2 installed? I had exactly the same problem as you, never did get tothe bottom of it but was gone after installing SP2.

    Third vote for XLobby BTW:)

    Mark.
     
  11. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    i'm using Win2k with SP4
     
  12. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Dave, I take it you mean a thumbnail image of the movie? You haven't actually sussed streaming TO the PDA have you?

    Mark.
     
  13. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Haven't tried it on w2k but someone must have, its kbown to be ok on 98 and xp so I'd have thought that it should be ok with w2k as well,

    Perhaps ask at the xlobby forum... www.xlobby.com/forum they tend to be a helpful bunch and the developer stops by frequently too.
     
  14. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    i've had it running a couple of times, but only through a TS session, logging on locally broke it!

    i'll ask at the forum and see what they say.
     
  15. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thats really odd, I have a dedicated machine running my 8 zone xlobby setup and use it through a local touchscreen or windows remote desktop, it is running xppro though.
     
  16. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    how does the client work with PPC?

    I'm trying a modded xbox with xbmc via a webserver (PPC skin), and that is OK for music, but it is slow as it reloads the page every time you click a button (even a transport button). Also it doesn't show the track you are playing, so its not perfect.

    Is xlobby quicker/more flexible? I'd use the default skin first to see how it is, but it does look pretty tricky to setup, and I don't want to spend lots of time if its going to be no better than my xbox.
     
  17. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    The xlobby thin client works by sending an image to the ppc or pc, across a wireless network it seems quick enough, you can have real time update of track time :)

    The limiting factor to the speed of the client is the resolution of your coverart but there are also options to reduce the quality of the image to improve the speed.

    To use the default skin its not that tricky to set up, you need .net installed, start xlobby, F2 to get into setup, the tabs across the top set up the sections but for music just
    General> tells xlobby where your winamp is,
    Basic> where your music sits - then press import
    and thats enough to play music on.
    To control it from a PPC
    Xnet> check the box to start xlobby as a server and note the ip address.

    Copy the client folder to your PPC which must also have .net installed, change the servers text file to reflect the ip address of the xlobby server from the xnet tab above. Then run the xlobby2sd.exe and the ppc will connect to the server.

    Giev it a go :smashin:
     
  18. Embarker

    Embarker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,626
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +66
    It really is as easy as JohnS says.

    I'm toying with buying a touchscreen with a headrest resess and flush mounting it flush in the wall in my Cinema room, and maybe one in the hallway off the server.

    Now where to get decent in ceiling speakers from?!?!

    JohnS, how many touchscreens could operate? would each need to "see" a computer, or could a pair share a computer.

    Just thinking that as each room gets decorated, one could be in each room as control panel!
     
  19. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    It depends on the type of screen, the touchscreen software, identical or not etc. They also need to be attached to a vga port and either a serial port or usb depending on the type of screen.

    I have had two different screens running off of one machine and in fact a third ordinary monitor as well, (extra pci graphics card), so it is possible. One was usb and one was serial as far as the touchscreen control was concerned and each worked with different software. The serial one definitly wanted to be the primary monitor though (but I'm not sure why).

    Although I have the touchscreen in the hallway (its a 7" widescreen) it hardly gets used compared to the ppc's, and just as expensive (if not slightly dearer). If only wired ethernet ppc cards wern't so expensive that would probably be a interesting option as a ppc could be hardwired with constant power so it wouldn't switch off to save battery, embedded in a wall....
     
  20. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    fixed the XLobby problem....simple as running the app from explorer, rather than accessing it thru an UNC location.
     
  21. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    What do you think then?
     
  22. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    I've been umming and aahing, and I think I'm leaning towards using xboxes. I have one already, so am trying that and xlobby side by side.

    The xbox is certainly a simpler solution - just bung one in a room with a TV, and network it to the router. Run XBMC and voila! Can control using Xbox remote control or pronto etc. Only obvious downside is that you need to use a TV.

    xlobby has the benefit of no TV, but then I need amps/speakers, which I don't have in all rooms..Also, the PPC is great (and works on xbox too via webserver), but I'm not sure about battery life. How do you find yours John?

    A lot is down to the UI. Both xlobby and XBMC are OK, and both can be skinned. But you need to be able to 'see' something to navigate by, which means TV isn't such a bad method.
     
  23. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    18,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +5,202
    not had a chnace to play, just out of bed! (been on nights)

    but it looks like a steep learning curve, a la Pronto !!

    Still having an issue getting the client to run though.......says it can't connect to the server. I've checked the servers.txt file, and it has the right IP details.
     

Share This Page

Loading...