1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JS Tech Converter and Freeview

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by lisag, Feb 16, 2005.

  1. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Is anyone in a position to compare a Freeview box connected to PW7 screen via scart, and via JS Tech RGB2VGA converter....? What is the difference really like - £120 better?

    I have a Pace Twin, but any freeview source will probably be similar

    lisa
     
  2. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I have a pace twin and all the kit. It's not £120 better, bu then it doesn't need to be, as you need one or the other, not both. Real world price difference is no more than £50, as if you have a scart board, you can sell it, here or fleabay, no problem.
     
  3. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Ok, thanks for your input I would probably keep the scart board in case I need it in the future but what I really want is for you to describe how different the picture quality is, can you do that (please)

    :smashin:
     
  4. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Well, er, tricky. The whole thing is sharper, the scart board is a bit 'soft focus' in comparison. Colours are brighter too, I usually use lower contrast and brightness settings on VGA than scart. The cable is generally smaller, and more tolerant of long runs than scart, so it's what I generally use. Starting with an emply screen it's a £20 price difference, my customers simply aren't interested as a general rule, so I do what's in my judgement the best. The JS converter is usually where that judgement goes. In spite of losing aspect ratio switching. I'm constantly told to get that confusing thing off pronto remotes, and the screen is left permanently in 'just' mode.
     
  5. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    On some broadcasts, such as Eastenders, I notice some graininess and pixelation via the scart input, is this still apparent using the js tech converter?
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    It can't make up the bits of picture the broadcaster isn't sending I'm afraid. I find this a blessing in some programmes. Like eastbenders. :devil:
     
  7. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,556
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    :rolleyes: OK, well thanks for the info and for the cheap shot at EE ;) , I will not rush out and buy it as an upgrade then.... If anyone else wants to offer an opinion please feel free to join in...

    lisa
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Cheap shot! That costs me £29.95 a month for my BB connection!
     
  9. adymartin

    adymartin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    128
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think Eastenders is crap too!! :D

    sorry, I use a syncblaster scart to vga cable and that does a good job too, for what it's worth. saves you some money on the js box.
     
  10. ynalepa

    ynalepa
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the JS Tech RGB 2 VGA converter a week after I got my Panny WD7 (was using high-end SCART cable), and I would definitely say that the PQ is awesome, the small black box is worth every penny!!

    I've got the Thomson DH4000 freeview box, which is similar to your Pace box.

    As for the PQ, the colours are richer, image is so much sharper and a less pixelasation (as least to my eyes), even run the DVD player through it (at least for now). :)

    Highly recommended!! :thumbsup:
     
  11. Lethal Lee

    Lethal Lee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    334
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Southwick, Brighton
    Ratings:
    +12
    So, just to confirm, you can still get "Just" mode (ie. filling whole screen from 4:3 picture) using JS Tech VGA convertor, as I was under impression you couldn't.
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    you can
     

Share This Page

Loading...