1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Js Rgb To Vga On Pw7

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by swellmel, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. swellmel

    swellmel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Currently have plasma connected just with scart input pq is fine but would there be significant improvement in buying rgb to vga convertor box,also anyone know best price for one inc delivery,best price i have seen is £127.50
     
  2. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    I upgraded my freeview box from scart to JS tech RGB to VGA and was pleased that I did - PQ is significantly improved, sharper and brighter. I actually got mine second hand from the Classified Sections, but have since noticed a good price here

    Oh, and AV-Sales do a discount on these for AV Forum members £110 I think.
     
  3. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543
    Im wondering whether to get one of these.

    I know they will do a better job then my mediabox. But i have read issues with the sync between the picture and the sound.

    The medibox does get slated on here but thats one thing i dont get. My concern is that if i buy the JS converter although ill get a better picture if i get the lipsync issue then im gonna have to spend more cash on a new amp or similar to sort it out and im not sure whether to take the plunge or not.

    I assume peeps on here have the JS box and dont suffer from the sync issue?

    Thanks

    Dal

    p.s. sorry to jump on post its just something i have been thinking about since i got my PW7 6 weeks ago.
     
  4. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Well, my set-up is very different to yours but I don't have any lipsync issues... that is with a Pace Twin Freeview PVR connected to PW7 via JS Box, and sound to AV amp via spdif out.

    I was also very sceptical as to whether I should get one, as the cost is relatively high for a gamble on improvement, and I couldn't find any vendor to sell me one on a sale or return basis.... but I am glad I have got it, the picture looks sort of smoother, and generally I am really pleased with it.

    They are very sellable via the Classifieds forum if you are disappointed with it.

    lisa
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    I have the js on both the panny and the tiny..both sky+ and although I have audio delay on the yamaha amp with the Panny, i have no such luxury with the tiny and get no lip sync issues with it
     
  6. itsonlyaname

    itsonlyaname
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    even my girlfriend noticed the diffrence whilst using the js box
     
  7. Davidgilmour

    Davidgilmour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +13
    was this with tv picture or dvd ?
     
  8. Light_User

    Light_User
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2005
    Messages:
    301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have a Sky box (Pace DS430N I think) to PW7. Audio goes from the Sky boxes analogue outputs to an av amp and picture from Sky box to vga, via the js tech box. I don't have any lip-synch issues either.
     
  9. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not to throw a spanner in the works, but i bought one and noticed absolutely no difference pq wise.

    I did start a thread to ask what the problem could be, if any, but I got no replies.

    Ive got a Pannasonic PW6 by the way.
     
  10. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543


    What where you using before the JS box?

    Dal
     
  11. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Originally I had a cheap scart cable running from the sky box into the Panny tuner, then into screen.

    Then changed to expensive QED scart from sky to RGB-VGA box then expensive Van Damme VGA cable to screen.

    Maybe Im doing something wrong, but I promise you it looks no different whatsoever.
     
  12. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,867
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +367
    Do you notice any difference over the Sky box into screen via Scart ( no tuner box) maybe the tuner box does something to the pq?
     
  13. Educated Guess

    Educated Guess
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,455
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +107
    Been debating about getting one for a few months. Been slightly skeptical as expensive leads in the past have made absolutely no difference to my system. I have decided that I'll never be satisfied until I at least try one. I have had my 50'' Panasonic th-50phw30 for over 2 years and have only ever had it connected up with a composite lead from sky (yeh, I know!), although I have component for the DVD.
    Got a JS RGB to VGA on it's way,purchased through this forum last week. Hopefully it will be here tomorrow. I'll post the results and try to give a subjective comparison as soon as it's hooked up. Might even take some pics if the camera can pic up any diffirential resolution.
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +472
    there's not a lot you can do wrong, but it's very strange not to notice a difference....I assume you have tried toggling through the signal options on the vga input? they are disabled on the pw7 but on the 6 series you have more options....and is your tuner now disconnected from the screen?
     
  15. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +543

    Be great if you could post your results fella....

    Dal
     

Share This Page

Loading...