Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

JS Converter - Brilliant!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by Cardiff Irons, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had my system for a week now, PWD7, Denon 2105 and Panny E65 DVD - and had Sky+ connected via the E65.

    Just received a JS Converter from AVSales so that audio and video from Sky+ can go straight to the amp, rather than through the E65. WOW, the picture quality on Sky+ has improved considerably, particularly footie. Any techies out there able to explain why PQ is so dramatically improved?

    The irony is I bought the JS converter to sort out a lip sync problem!!! :thumbsup:
     
  2. Bearded_Malc

    Bearded_Malc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    393
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    You've answerd your own question. The RGB is no longer routed through the E65. The JS-VGA doesn't really count as it only generates sync from the scart composite video signal. The RGB signals aren't touched. So you now don't have the added noise from the E65, hence better PQ.
     
  3. gstadt

    gstadt
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Messages:
    281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +23
    Would the JS converter have the same impact on Freeview, which as I understand it, has better PQ than Sky.
     
  4. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cardiff, m8 how did you have it set up before, and how have you got it set up now?
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    its due to a £150 converter being better at converting than a £250 DVD recorder that happens to convert video as well....you Now have the best of both worlds (I assume you bought an RGB>YUV converter)
     
  6. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Bearded Malc.
    Originally:
    Sky+ scart into AV2 of the E65
    E65 component to Denon 2105
    Denon 2105 component to PWD7

    Now:
    Sky+ scart into JS Converter
    JS Converter component to Denon 2105
    Denon 2105 component to PWD7

    Is that what you meant?
    Yes, mate - looking really good now. All I need now is some decent speakers - they're stuck in Germany somewhere at the mo.
     
  7. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cardiff, how are you going to record ? and which output are you taking from the sky box?
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    was DVDR connect to sky TV or VCR scart? (can connect sky VCR>DVDR but composite only suggest using S-video from Sky+ to E65)
     
  9. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great minds think alike Horny lol
     
  10. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got Sky+ TV scart > JS converter
    Sky+ Video scart > E65 AV2

    Haven't tested it out yet, but can't see why it won't work.

    Don't have a VCR but do have a second Sony DVD player. Not sure whether you can record DVD to DVD, but reckoned on simply unplugging scart from Sky+ and sticking it into the back of the Sony DVD if I do.

    That sound OK?
     
  11. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Ok what did you have before the converter arrived (was E65 set to prog scan? if so try turning it off)

    yes but as posted above S-video from Sky+ (has dedicated S-video socket) to E65 (either scart AV2 or S-video soket) wil give better PQ for Acrhiving Sky+ than composite.
     
  12. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Before the converter arrived I had scart from Sky+ TV to E65 AV2. I had prog scan on but had also tried it with prog scan off.
    So are you saying that S-video from Sky+ to E65 will do a better job than a good quality scart from Sky+ to AV2? If so, I could use the AV2 scart to connect up with the Sony DVD scart.
     
  13. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    yes but will need to select signal type IIRC when switching betwen the two...
     
  14. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,991
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +229
    S-video will be better because the VCR scart on the Sk= box is composite only. However it will accept RGB in so connect your other DVD player to it.
     
  15. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys. So the best bet is:

    Sony DVD scart to Sky+ video scart
    Sky+ s-video to E65 s-video

    Presumably then to record from Sony DVD to E65, I just turn the Sky+ box off?

    Am i getting there?

    Piers - in the middle of sending you a PM mate.
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    nearly mate sony>e65 on scart to AV2 and Sky+ to the S-video in socket on rear...
     
  17. ian.webb

    ian.webb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cardiff,

    You said you bought the JS converter to improve the lip-sync issues. Did it work?
     
  18. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I thought that at first HD, but Piers' post seems to suggest connecting the Sony DVD into the Sky+ video scart.
     
  19. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ian, not certain yet - I had a quick look when I connected the thing up but haven't sat down to do any solid viewing yet - I'll give you an update later.

    The only problem I had with lip sync was when I took Sky+ video via the E65 but took digital audio separately direct to amp so that I could get dolby digital (there was no significant lip sync if both video and audio went through the E65).
     
  20. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    sorry to be dumb but can i just butt in with a related question....if you use the vcr scart on sky+ as an rgb in how do you select bewteen sky+ viewing and whatever source you have coming in?
     
  21. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    Sky+ in stanb by will PAss RGB thorugh to ends of chain
     
  22. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    mep, I assume that if Sky+ is switched on, then that will display. You would need to turn Sky+ off to enable the incoming source to display. I'm happy to be corrected if anyone knows different.
     
  23. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Blimey HD, I'm even getting some of the answers right. You've taught me well mate. :smashin:
     
  24. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    many thanks HD / Cardiff....told you it was dumb :)
     
  25. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    excellent, I hope you stick around to help other newbies out....
     
  26. Cardiff Irons

    Cardiff Irons
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Auckland
    Ratings:
    +0
    No mep, it wasn't a dumb question. Certainly no dumber than the majority of questions I've had to ask on here. ;)
     
  27. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    funny isn't it...you keep thinking your getting there...and then you come across something else you dont know! :)
     
  28. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    like! if you are using s-vid from sky+ to dvdr rather than scart do you need to change any sky+ settings for recording?
     
  29. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    no but do need set DVDR to input S-video instead of RGB or composite
     
  30. JulianL

    JulianL
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Geez, I love this forum. That tip about putting an input into the Sky+ VCR Scart is dynamite. Now I know how I can plug in a VHS player and stream it through to my DVD recorder to archive tapes without pulling everything apart. Thanks Piers!!

    - Julian
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice