Joytech 360 bits and bobs

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by LEEMJONES, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. LEEMJONES

    LEEMJONES
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
  2. nogimmix

    nogimmix
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Kent & Canary Wharf
    Ratings:
    +82
    Hmmmm, not much info yet on the control center. If it's got at least 2 or 3 component inputs I'll be very happy.
     
  3. danvitale

    danvitale
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    By The Sea
    Ratings:
    +114
    What exactly IS the control center? We looked at it here and couldnt make out minds up!!
     
  4. Chris White

    Chris White
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    am i right in thinking its a face plat that gives you more inputs and outputs????
     
  5. pitchin4eva

    pitchin4eva
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    325
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    and what will be the xbox360 monitor?..................portable hdtv screen?
     
  6. Indiana Jones

    Indiana Jones
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    37,579
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +10,210
    Nice price for the Scart and VGA cables but how will they compare to the Official Microsoft products?
     
  7. dolph

    dolph
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +26
    Control Centre looks to me to be a glorified AV Switcher and Ethernet Hub in one?

    AV Switcher functionality is a bit old hat though - no VGA/DVI or HDMI ?
     
  8. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    the control center looks like a variant of their control centre 240 on their website.

    That has 6 inputs, one output component switcher with remote control.

    5 inputs have optical audio in, 3 have ethernet in.

    the xbox version has vertical/horizontal mounting, switchable faceplates, and 5 port ethernet switch (so a little bit more than the standard one)

    The SCART version won an award from HCC for best accessory, so I have high hopes for this one.

    Unfortunately Joytech have just told me it won't be out until Jan/feb next year. Not sure if I can wait that long for a component switcher.
     
  9. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,068
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +210
  10. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +221
    im sure it wont be long before someone has made a hdmi cable for the 360.
     
  11. nogimmix

    nogimmix
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Kent & Canary Wharf
    Ratings:
    +82
    I'll look forward to that, will mean my component input can be used by a dvd player.
     
  12. Overlord69

    Overlord69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +55
    Anyone considering getting one should read this thread. :lesson:
     
  13. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,963
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    Could you sum that massive thread up for us in a simple quote please Overlord? Cheers!
     
  14. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    interesting. Maybe I'll just go with the scancom component switcher - has the benefit of twin outputs for the TV and projector.

    Anyone got any comments on that?
     
  15. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +221
    Would it be difficult for a 3rd party to make a hdmi cable???????
     
  16. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    depends if the xbox outputs a digital signal. If it does, then it should be simple. But if its simple, then surely MS would release one.

    MS seem to think (and I tend to agree) that HDMI simply isn't necessary for HD videogames. component or VGA will give you a fantastic image. Keep your HDMI sockets clear for copy protected content, which is what they are there for.
     
  17. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,963
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,475
    The 360 outputs an analogue signal AFAIK, so like you say HDMI is unnecessary.
     
  18. Cowden_harley

    Cowden_harley
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Messages:
    4,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    FIFE, SCOTLAND
    Ratings:
    +221
    ^^^ Cool answers my question. thanks guys.
     
  19. Overlord69

    Overlord69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    781
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +55
    Basically although the thread is for a different model it's made by the same manufacturer "Joytech ". Numerous people have had problems with wide-screen switching and other faults. Joytech then launched Version 2 that supposedly cured the previously mention problems and as discussed in the very long thread, they still exist to this day.
    So basically it's a case of Caveat Emptor (buyer beware)! ;)
     
  20. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,056
    but if you're buying it to hack together a component switch solution, you wouldn't care about WSS would you? And ordering from play you always have the handy DSR to fall back on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...