1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Joining .ts files

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Ferry, Aug 5, 2005.

  1. Ferry

    Ferry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    What's the correct procedure to join .ts files. Can I use a simple file joiner or is there more to it?

    Ferry
     
  2. cmb101

    cmb101
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Falkirk
    Ratings:
    +7
    http://www.eecs.umich.edu/~balazer/HDTV ... index.html

    hdtv2mpeg

    Great little program, doesn't work for converting .ts to mpeg but great for joining .ts files just select .ts as your output and set your desired file size.

    Great for splitting large .ts files to smaller ones eg dvd size
     
  3. Ferry

    Ferry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Motherwell
    Ratings:
    +0
    link doesnt work
     
  4. as

    as
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2001
    Messages:
    302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    nullpacketstripper . joins ts files into one file u also need java machine to run the null........
     
  5. DrunkenDuck

    DrunkenDuck
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Totalcommander , simple and quick
     
  6. zag2me

    zag2me
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
  7. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +181
    It seems to vary. Sometimes I could convert with no probs but for no reason on other joins it would leave blocking all over the place which wasn't there in the .ts files.

    Seeing as Media Player Classic plays .ts files anyways I stopped converting :)
     
  8. Starburst

    Starburst
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    17,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ilkeston
    Ratings:
    +979
    The every so slight pause between files quickly made me abandon using a playlist on any playback app:)

    Just use the DOS command copy /b *.ts "f:\new.ts" to merge them into a single file and it plays seemlessly although obviously until blu-ray arrives recording the resulting file intact onto a single disk is a bit of a problem:)
     
  9. Laskina

    Laskina
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You are a genius Starburst :)

    To make life even easy open up your text editor, copy the following into it ...

    copy /b *.ts merged.ts

    then save it as merge_ts.bat into your .ts folder. Double click it and it will merge all the .ts files in that folder into a single merged.ts file.

    Saves messing around in the dos prompt finding the right folders :)

    Nick
     
  10. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Laskina / anybody, soz to bring an old thread back to life but I'm having trouble using "cpy /b *.ts merged.ts". I created a batch file as above then copied it to a "film (part 1)" folder containing 43x 105meg .ts files, then run the .bat and eventually (after about 3hrs!) it created an amalgam merged.ts file of approx approx 4.1gig which I renamed "Film (part one).ts". Result!!

    But! No matter what I try in folders 2, 3 and 4 (parts 2, 3 and 4 of the film, again with 43x 105meg files in each) I cannot get the .bat to work again when I copy it to and run it in those folders. Initially a merged.ts file is created when continues to grow over the course of the next coupla hours, but then I fall asleep and when I look again the cmd box opened when the .bat file was run has gone... And so has the merged.ts that was building, with no explanation as to why!

    I tried reducing the number of files and the copied .bat file worked again when combining two .ts files into a single merged .ts. Re- creating another merged 43x 105meg .ts file I'm definitely not running out of hard disk space, and the files I'm combining are exactly the same size as those in the film (part one) folder which worked a treat. Can anybody please spot what I'm doing wrong? I just don't understand how it can work first time but not again?!

    Dan
     
  11. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    i also use total commander very easy to use. works every time
     
  12. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that - have d/led it and it's chugging away now. I presume I will have to rename the ".out" file it's creating as .ts?

    Dan
     
  13. Stephen Neal

    Stephen Neal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    6,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +681
    If you do a google search for MPEG2 Repair you might find something of use. This will create a single .TS file from multiple .TS files, AND it corrects off-air errors. This can then be fed into HDTV2MPEG and will deliver a very "clean" file. HDTV2MPEG on its own works fine with error-free .ts files, but doesn't with any that have errors in.
     
  14. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update: after chugging away for nearly 3hrs, all the while a "combined film.out" file was being compiled on my hard drive, Total Commander reported the error message "Error writing to output file!". When I played the amalgam it ended before the last of the .ts files, so now I'm gonna try HDTVtoMPEG2 since I'm convinced my .ts files are error free, if not will try MPEG2 Repair... Third time lucky fingers Xed :)

    Dan
     
  15. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Another vote for Total commander for me.
    Always worked fine, even for files over 20GB in size.
     
  16. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    HDTV has been going 52mins so far with 1hr 32mins remaining it estimates, so we shall see! My output file should've been 4.5gig but it errored and stopped building at about 4.1-ish. I really don't care which tool I use so long as the output looks exactly the same as the input files. I do like HDTV's preview as it compiles the .ts amalgam... If it completes the job without an error then yay I've found my product :) But I know I shouldn't count any chickens yet, lol.

    Dan
     
  17. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...Aargh!! With 7mins 4secs left to run, HDTVtoMPEG2 reported the error "Couldn't write to output file". It stopped at 4,190,208 bytes on my hard drive, the same point as Total Commander gave up at some I s'pose that proves the prob is my operating system or disc? I think I'll try splitting the film into 5 parts rather than four... :(

    Dan.
     
  18. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    I take it you ran the original files through quickpar?
     
  19. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahem... I did what? (Perhaps I should've pointed out already that this is the first time I've tried to join .ts files together!) I thought PAR files were only required when your source .ts files were incomplete? They were all listed as complete when I leached 'em, but I haven't checked them since downloading. Should I have?

    Dan
     
  20. superloopy

    superloopy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You on NTFS or FAT32 (with an inherent 4gb filesize limit, oops!!)?
     
  21. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Yes you should, it's entirely possible one of more of the files is damaged, go back and grab one of the par files (any will do but grab the smallest for ease of use)

    Download quickpar and associate it with par files then double click your par file and see what it tells you.
     
  22. Dan Smiffy

    Dan Smiffy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    NTFS, I didn't think that had a filesize limit? (Or if it does it wasnt as low as 4.2gig.)

    Rightie dokes Dan'79, I'll grab and run Quickpar and see what it reckons! Cheers.

    Dan.

    Edit: it is FAT32, d'oh! While my computer is formatted NTFS, the USB HD I bought for film downloads I've just discovered is FAT32. Superloops IOU a biscuit ;) And Dan1979 you can have one too for educating me re- PARs!
     
  23. dan1979

    dan1979
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    3,520
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    If you've only just bought it then there can't be much on it so re-format it.
     
  24. stripe

    stripe
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +123

    Brilliant! Thanks Starburst :thumbsup:
     
  25. zag2me

    zag2me
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    228
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    You dont need to join the files at all, just play any of them in theatretek dvd plaer and it will automatically play them all in a row perfectly smoothly.

    Much easier, takes less time and keeps the files in their original form.
     
  26. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    yeah but when streaming you need to join them otherwise theres a gap.
     
  27. Tatwamasi

    Tatwamasi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    This sounds like what I want to do. Can someone explain it for me in really simple terms please.

    Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: HDTVtoMPEG2 seems to be doing the trick just fine. :)
     
  28. pointyone

    pointyone
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    766
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    ts merge is excellent not sure its available as a download any more, i have it and can email anyone if you pm, you just drag and drop the first file in the movie in and its auto puts them in order, and outputs them as 1 file takes about 5 mins for a 8 gig movie

    its a small rar file that you extrat to your desktop then just drag and drop dead simple
     
  29. Siskoray

    Siskoray
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ummm let's do a reality check here.... one genius???

    TWO GENIUS'

    BAM!!!!!!!:clap:

    Not only did it work, but it's FAREEEE!!!!

    Thanks for posting these alternatives, you gotta love people who likes to share.
     
  30. Siskoray

    Siskoray
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here's all you have to do.

    Open your notepad and either copy/paste or type the following:

    copy /b *.ts merged.ts

    Then "Save As" merge_ts.bat into any folder you want.

    Then copy the new file "merge_ts.bat" into the folder where your ts files exist and simply double click. Vuala! TADA!

    It's awesome!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...