Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Joining Sky+ and offered Reconditioned Box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by bbasra, May 13, 2005.

  1. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +43
    i am currently just on the £19.50 package and i want sky+.

    As my contract has now expired, i called Sky CS up and was after bargaining with them for ages with the new customer deals, they managed to offer me

    1. Reconditioned Sky+ Box for £75.00 inc installtional and no multiroom option
    2. Sky+ Box for £149.00 inc installation and no multiroom

    however, i will have to get 2 premium channels which is okay so i'll go for the movies package.

    How relable are these Recon boxes? Should i stay away? :clap: or :nono:

    TIA!
     
  2. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Most , if not all, of the boxes offered in the first deal are reconditioned Pace v1,s. The second offer will be for a new box,but you will have to take whatever the installer has on his van. You pays your money and takes your chance.
     
  3. sgruniss

    sgruniss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    It's hard enough getting a new one that works let alone a reconditioned one , only had 4 new boxes this time.Best of luck with your decision.

    Regards
    Sgruniss
     
  4. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +43
    now i'm even more confused........ new ones are also dodgy then.....?
     
  5. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I took up the offer about a year ago when we could get the recon boxes for £99.
    Touch wood, no problems except with new firmware upgrades. The upgrades being the problem.
    Double check, but either way you still get a 1 year warranty.
    Best reason for the ver 1 boxes is that they are silver, the new ones are white.
    If you're a stickle for colours, this might be important.
    Best of luck whatever you decide.
     
  6. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +43
    i would prefer silver....

    Daftboy, what happened with fw upgrades?

    so recon boxes are okay?
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    You have to realise that one out of every 1000 new boxes goes faulty in the first year, and that one invariably posts here ! :)

    The happy Sky+ box owners like myself stay quiet :cool:
     
  8. bbasra

    bbasra
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Hounslow
    Ratings:
    +43
    ..... so i am even get an amstrad not a pace?
     
  9. Daftboy

    Daftboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Messages:
    505
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yeah, only lock up's failed recording, etc. The normal really. I had gone through a 6 month spell of no problems and then last month after upgrade, it lost all recording and locked up. 5 minutes after speaking with a tech guy (Proper one), fix and has again been trouble free.
    Overall I am very happy and it very quickly made my VCR redundant.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice