Question John Lewis JL9100

lharoon

Novice Member
Reaction score
I bought one from the Tamworth store. The guy in the store was very helpful and said they had been waiting for them for months. There was only the 40 inch model on display. It looked tiny amongst the home cinema giant screens but the picture was good!

It was delivered this week. I had difficulty following the assembly instructions for the stand. Well, I couldn't follow them, so I figured it out for myself. Other than that, "I" got it connected to my WiFi (PlusNet router with a 70Mbps Unlimited fibre connection from BT over the phone wire), downloaded some updates and tuned in the Freeview and HD channels without too much difficulty. I am not used to the Magic Remote so had a lot of arm waving to get over...

I'm new to HD, not to mention 4K, and haven't set up anything fancy like NetFlix. I did get a 1TB WD Elements external USB 2.0 drive connected today for the Time Machine to use. There were no accurate instructions that I could find, so it's just as well the TV managed all by itself. The drive had been used for Windows 7 backups and was formatted as NTFS. Still is, as far as I can tell. I used the WD Data Lifeguard to check it for errors (none) and the Quick Formatter to "clear" the files off it. Now there are recordings. Some tennis, dead easy to start an instant recording with a bit of arm waving, plus some scheduled children's programmes, must have the Clangers, and maybe the British GP this weekend...

The biggest problem so far is getting used to the Magic Remote. You should have seen me to start with. Like I was playing Twister!

Hope that helps,

David