Jerky video & audio from DV to DVD-R

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by guitarman3, Sep 28, 2004.

1. guitarman3

guitarman3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm new to video editing and have a new Sony DV camcorder and used VideoStudio 8 to capture and burn video to a DVD-R. When playing back the DVD in a stand alone DVD player, the video is jerky and the audio drops in and out along with the 'jerkiness' (for lack of a better word). I captured video using firewire and have a 7200 250GB hard drive dedicated to video. PC has P4 at 2.5GHz. Any ideas as to why I'm not getting a satisfactory burn? I tried playback on 2 different DVD players with same results on both. Thanks

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +14
    There are lots of things that can go wrong along the way.

Make sure you are burning to good quality reliable media for a start.

Is the playback jerky when played back on your PC as well ?

If it's not jerky on a PC but jerky on a normal TV set the problem could be that during your encoding/authoring the wrong "field order" is set & this will produce jerky (especially during movement) picture when played back on a non progressive display.

3. Roy Mallard

Roy Mallard

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    check your capture settings, PAL for most of Europe, NTSC for states, Japan.

4. Kevo

Kevo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +151
    Agree with vonhosen, most likely a 'Field order' issue.

Sometimes this has to be changed depending on whether the sourceis DV or analogue.

I had problems recently when I didn't realise that I had to change the order for Digital8. I assumed it would be the same order for miniDV...not so!

5. guitarman3

guitarman3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I played the dvd on my pc and it also is jerky there.