Jerky picture

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by don-tucker, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have connected my HP pavillion PC running Vista to th TV using HDMI cable.
    The TV picture is very jerky when playing a file through WM but fine on the PC,does anyone know the answer to this please.
    Don
     
  2. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    Probably related to either the refresh rate of the TV not matching the media clip you are playing or your PC graphics card is struggling to keep up.

    A bit more info required, like PC spec, media player version, clip properties etc.
     
  3. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for the quick reply
    PC HP Pavilion slimline S3621 Mem 3GB 32 bit OS
    Vista SP2
    Vidio clip AVI
    WMP V11
    NVIDA V1.5
    Hope that helps
    Don
     
  4. Chuck Norris

    Chuck Norris
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,485
    Have you done the basics like update all drivers on the machine?

    please download VLC Player and try playing the media with that once all drivers updated as with the specification of your machine you shouldn't really have too much trouble unless it's a Bluray rip you're trying to play.

    Spec of your machine for others:

    Processor: 2.2 GHz Intel Pentium Dual Core processor E2200
    Memory: 3GB DDR2-SDRAM
    HD Capacity: 320GB
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9300 GE
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium
    Main Specifications
    Processor
    2.2 GHz Intel Pentium Dual Core processor E2200
    NVIDIA nForce 630i chipset
    Memory
    3 GB DDR2-SDRAM
    2 DIMM sockets
    Storage
    320 GB SATA 3G Hard Disk Drive (7200 rpm) with up to 13 GB partition for system recovery
    DVD writer SATA DVD RAM and Double Layer supporting LightScribe technology
    15 in 1 memory card reader
    Communication
    Ethernet 10/100BT integrated network interface
    Wireless LAN 802.11 b/g
    Video
    NVIDIA GeForce 9300 GE with PureVideo HD technology (DVI/VGA port, HDMI port)
    256 MB dedicated memory, up to 1535 MB total available graphics memory as allocated by Windows Vista
    Sound
    High Definition Audio 5.1
    1 front audio port, 3 rear analog audio ports & 1 rear digital audio port
    Included accessories
    PS/2 keyboard and optical mouse
    Ports & Expandability
    1 external optical drive bay, 1 internal HDD bay, 1 Pocket Media Drive bay
    1 PCI-E 16x low profile
    1 PCI-Express 1x low profile (free)
    6 USB 2.0 ports (2 in front)
    1 FireWire-IEEE-1394 ports
    Software
    Microsoft Works and Microsoft Office Home and Student 2007
    60-Day Trial Version
    Roxio Backup MyPC
    Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.0
    Windows Mail
    Adobe Reader 8.0
    HP Total Care Advisor
    Photosmart Essential
    Windows Photo Gallery
    Windows Media Player
    Windows Movie Maker
    Windows DVD Maker
    Cyberlink DVDSuite Deluxe
    Muvee AutoProducer
    EasyBits Magic Desktop
    HP Games Console with hours of free game play, featuring EA Spore Creature Creator
    Windows Media Center
    Warranty: 1 Year Manufacturer Warranty
     
  5. noiseboy72

    noiseboy72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5,412
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,455
    My guess would be refresh rate. Press the info button on the remote and it will tell you the fresh rate (50Hz or 60Hz.) This needs to match the frame rate of the clip for smooth playback.

    Make sure you are only outputting to the TV screen and not any other LCD screens, as this may affect the ability of the graphics card to drive the TV at the correct rate.
     
  6. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    How would I change the refresh rate on the AVI clip ,the tv is 60hz if that refers to refresh rate, and the PC is 60hz.
    Don
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2012
  7. spyder viewer

    spyder viewer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,846
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,285
    The setting is for your graphics card You should find it under the desktop settings menu!
     
  8. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Downloaded VLC ,a lot better Thanks,will try to upgrage drivers.
    don
     
  9. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,406
    I'm not clear what the problem is, what's WM?

    It sounds like you're saying the picture is ok on the monitor but jerky on the TV, is that correct?
     
  10. Chuck Norris

    Chuck Norris
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,485
    I assume Don is referring to Windows Media Player.

    This sounds like a simple codec/driver problem.
     
  11. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes Windows Media Player.How would i go about upgrading the Codec driver,and that is correct,the pc picture is ok but on the tv it is jerkey.
    I am using a programme called Ultra Mon to mirror the pc monitor on the tv
    Don
     
  12. Chuck Norris

    Chuck Norris
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    5,897
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,485
    Ultra Mon is not a program that I am familiar with but it could well be the problem.

    I have the option on my machine to 'extend' the desktop through the traditional graphics options, don't you?

    To be honest, I wouldn't worry about the codec pack as VLC will play anything you throw at it and I would look into using the Nvidia driver to extend the monitor.

    Should you wish to though;

    KLite Codec Pack
     
  13. don-tucker

    don-tucker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks to you Guys all is well ,used Nvidia to mirror the two monitors and using VCL, perfect.
    Thanks a lot for your time,I don't know what I would do without this forum
    Don:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice