1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jerky pans

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by philipb, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    I output Sky+ via RGB/component converter into a H3DII card then to vga input on a Pio 433MXE plasma. The H3DII uses ffdshow for image processing. I'm currently using 3 of the ffdshow filters for de-noise, sharpening, resizing. CPU usage according to ffdshow is at about 50%.

    PQ is very good, but horizontal pans are jerky, fast ones very jerky and show tearing.

    Graphics card is a 9600 Pro, and CPU is a P4 2.4G.

    Any ideas on how to smooth things out?
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Is it jerky without ffdshow?
     
  3. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Tearing sounds like a VMR7/VMR9 display mode issue.

    Also what refresh rate are you running? Do you run one for both NTSC and PAL material?

    regards,
    Rob.
     
  4. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Jeff - yes but gets worse the more filters I turn on.

    Rob - I use overlay and run at 60Hz, all PAL I have tried different resolutions and refresh rates - little difference.
     
  5. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi philibp,
    Can you try 75Hz, assuming you have PowerStrip installed.
    "C:\Program Files\PowerStrip\PStrip.exe" /t:1024,112,80,88,768,1,3,29,78750,2326

    The 433MXE works beautifully for 75 and 71.928Hz, the best I've seen film pans on any digital display so I'm sure this can be sorted.

    Also, it might be worth re-reading the previous holo3d/433MXE discussion thread: http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?...ms/showthread.php?s=&postid=961753#post961753

    regards,
    rob.
     
  6. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Oh, I think ffdshow needs to know PAL/NTS but I'm not sure how.

    Can you try with ffdshow post-provessing off for now.

    cheers,
    Rob.
     
  7. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Rob

    With ffdshow off there's still a problem, although much less.
     
  8. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    And with the 75Hz powerstrip setting?
     
  9. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    Rob

    Done a fair bit of testing now. 75Hz improves things a lot, but still not totally smooth. Switching off ffdshow doesn't help. I can live with it.
     
  10. Rob.Screene

    Rob.Screene
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Berks, England
    Ratings:
    +45
    Hi Philipb,
    There are a number of services you'll find running under windows XP that can be stopped and disabled or set to manual start.

    You might find that helps.

    For an analog PAL input, the HOLO3D's will run at 50fps output internally. You might like to try a refresh rate of 50Hz or 100Hz to the 433MXE, we didn't test that one as we were using a software DVD player source, but it's definitely worth a try.

    regards,
    Rob.
     

Share This Page

Loading...