JBL GTO1514 and BK MF300 Build

Discussion in 'DIY Speaker & Subwoofer Building' started by rss8, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I finally took the plunge to build my first subwoofer after my Monitor Audio RSW12 failed on me (loud hum and crackling sound)

    I have bought the JBL 15" GTO1514 subwoofer and BK MF300 Amp and plan to put it all together to create one kick ass sub for home theater!

    Now to build the cabinet, I cant get Winisd or Unibox working, can someone be very kind and help me a little to build the ported subwoofer? Low and Loud, please

    I am not restricted by cabinet size, so the best output is preferred as this will be used for HT use.

    Pictures to follow - plan to build this over the next few days as I finally have spare time..

    Thanks :hiya:
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
  2. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would like to order the MDF today, can anyone help me?

    1. All I need to the recommended enclosure size
    2. Slot or Round Port? Size?

    I would like to build this as a down-firing sub.

    Thanks
     
  4. 4Dee

    4Dee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi mate, I built a sub using two of these. I went for five and a half cubic feet per driver, mine was a sealed enclosure tho. Try searching the forums past threads, several people have built ported subs using these drivers.
    Let us know how you get on.
     
  5. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have tried, I havent seen anyone using the GTO1514 15" Ported?

    Its weird I am getting 292lites with Winisd Beta and 320litres with Winisd Pro using the same paremteres. Both with 20hz tune.
     
  6. Member 639844

    Member 639844
    Former Advertiser

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,799
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,182
    Use the pro version. The size of enclusre and tune will be dictated by by the enclosue type. I'd recommend the -3 ebp enclosure.
     
  7. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks moonfly! So its 330.06litres at 20.17hz tune.

    I can get air velocity down to just 18-20m/s with a 8" port but the cone excursion exceeds xmax at 18hz?

    I would be controlling the MF300 Amplifier module with my Yamaha V671. Any ideas what I should do..
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
  8. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
  9. Member 639844

    Member 639844
    Former Advertiser

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,799
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,182
    All ported designs unload below tune point, thats quite normal. All you need is a high pass filter. If you know the xmech value, then I would set the filter slightly above that. BK will build the filter into the amp for you if you ask when ordering.
     
  10. rss8

    rss8
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

    Ok - so I assume I do not need a subsonic filter which is great!

    I already have the amp and subwoofer, just need to model the enclosure correctly and then it is down to B&Q to get the MDF cut.

    If you have spare time moonfly can you please verify the size of the enclosure is correct? What would be the overall size inc the amp and sub in the box?
     
  11. Member 639844

    Member 639844
    Former Advertiser

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    14,799
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Ratings:
    +1,182
    A subsonic filter is another name for a high pass filter. Unless you tune to about 15hz I'd really reccommend against not using one. If your not going to get a filter then I'd look at tuning lower just to protect your driver. Unfortunately that will mean a larger cab and longer port.

    I cant currently model this for you as I the power lead went caput on my laptop and Ive not missed it enough to replace it, sorry.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice