1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jap PSP and Online Issue

Discussion in 'Playstation Forums' started by vicbarry, Mar 23, 2005.

  1. vicbarry

    vicbarry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +7
    Apparently the JAP PSP is not ready to go online and play games through a router. Its a snippet on gamespot. Anyone else here this. Hopefully its not true as Ive bloody ordered the ATV game yoke for the online play. Apparently a firmware update will sort it out! Whens that gonna be due!
     
  2. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +179
    This better not be true!
     
  3. Sporran

    Sporran
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire, Wales
    Ratings:
    +135
    The post in gamespot is a bit confusing but means that no games were available at launch that supports infrastructure mode. In that Japan didnt have its online servers ready, which is what the US is doing.

    Ad hoc was the only available option at launch for psp to work via WIFI with 16 other psps in proximity to each other.

    The japanese unit does support infrastructure mode, and can connect to the internet thourhg a wireless router though nothing is there at the other end.

    I know peeps that have done so fine with Jap units, and my Jap import will be arriving tomorrow :clap:

    I wouldnt worry bout that article its just bad english ;)
     
  4. vicbarry

    vicbarry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +7
    Cheers for that sporran. Let us know how u get on tomorrow.
     
  5. monkeyleader

    monkeyleader
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,620
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +90
    So Ive been able to connect and pick up an ip address using my JAP console - okay I aint tried any gaming yet but all the signs look good - this is through infrastructure mode picking up an ip address from my LinkSys Wireless Router.

    http://monkeyonthemove.textamerica.com/?r=2240306
     
  6. vicbarry

    vicbarry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +7
    same here, and ive just succesfully downloaded and updated the firmware with the psp on wireless mode
     

Share This Page

Loading...