Ixos XHT658-100 HDMI lead

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by ellchester, Aug 7, 2006.

1. ellchester

ellchester

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I found myself wandering into Richer Sounds at London Bridge for a "quick look around" and came out with an IXOS XHT658-100 HDMI cable for SKY HD which I'm having installed in a couple of weeks. Had a quick look around but can't find much about them? Are they worth the money (paid £120 which I now know is over the price on the net)? Am I honestly going to notice a difference over a £30 Cambridge Audio hdmi lead? Running it with a Pioneer 436XDE. Honest opinions as i'm fairly new to all this and I want to spend money in the right places (still need a good amp and good set of speakers - they're next on the list!!)

2. JUS

JUS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +322
    There's lots of different views on cables...In my opinion you won't notice a £90 improvement...especially as the cable is sending a digit signal, which either gets there or doesn't.

3. JohnWH

JohnWH

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +82
    I'd take it back and put the saved cash in the pot for a new amp and speakers, you don't even need to spend the £30 on the Cambridge audio one, the one which comes with the SkyHD box is fine.

John.

4. ellchester

ellchester

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Looks like I have wasted my money - just read on the sat. forum that there is a major issue with SKY HD and Pioneer plasmas and Pioneer are saying to only use component with HD not HDMI until the problem is resolved!!!

5. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,470
    Hello ellchester

The potential SKY HD/Pioneer XDE problem - see http://www.pioneerhdblog.com/