I've run out of inputs...

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by penfold77, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. penfold77

    penfold77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I imagine I'm not the only one with this issue, so hopefully the masses can help me here!

    I've got a Panasonic TH42PV500 which 'only' has 1 HDMI and 1 component input. I've also got an aging Yamaha amp (can't remember the model) which only has 1 optical input.

    Now I've got a 360, Sky HD book, DVD and HTPC hanging going into the plasma, and would like to use the digital audio outputs of all of them. So I was looking at replacing my Yahama amp with the DSPAX759SE. Now does this also allow multiple video feeds to be run through it and the video follows the audio input that I've selected?

    Or should I look for a dedicated video and audio switching unit?

    Thanks
     
  2. dazza74

    dazza74
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    13,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,394

    Do you connect you HTPC via DVI to HDMI?
     
  3. penfold77

    penfold77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    360 = Component - L/R Audio
    Sky HD = HDMI - Via HDMI
    HTPC= VGA - Coaxial digital audio to amp
    DVD = RGB Scart - Optical digital audio to amp
     
  4. dazza74

    dazza74
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    Messages:
    13,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,394
    I think the amp you suggest would do the job, looking at the spec on richer sounds it's got enough inputs. Personally though I think you might get away with a 3 input optical switching box cost about £8 if you don't want to go to the expense of forking out for a new amp. Personally if you did fancy getting a new amp I'd proper look at spending a bit more and getting something like the Onkyo SR605 with the HDMI etc it's a bit more future proof
     
  5. penfold77

    penfold77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    Therein lies the problem, I'm not really planning on spending any money at all, but would like to plan for some thing as if I go HD on the DVD player I'm going to be stuffed with the limited inputs I have. That looks like a nice amp though, thanks.
     
  6. sp_harris

    sp_harris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    582
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +60
    Another option is to keep an eye on the trading forums on this site for a second hand amp with up-conversion (will take all your video feeds and output all through one HDMI output) and one that can process audio over HDMI for HD sounds. These two features on an amp negate the lack on inputs on our TV's.
     

Share This Page

Loading...