I've got a region A(region locked)blu ray film to work on my UK PS3

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD discs' started by Bittern, Jan 12, 2008.

  1. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    Hello

    Thought i'd register, to tell you lot about this :)

    I got a region A (American) copy of Shoot 'Em Up which is region locked(which i didn't know about at the time).

    After i put it into my UK PS3 and clicked onto the filmes icon (BDMV), the machine thought about it and a message came up in big letters saying REGION INCOMBATIBILITY:mad::mad::mad::mad:.Then it goes back to the PS3 menues

    Tried it a few times and it done the same over and over again.

    So on the last try when the "region incombatibility" message came up i pressed the triangle on the controller, which brings up the pop-up menu and clicked on "TOP MENU" then BINGO the films menu came on :eek::eek::eek: :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:.

    Everything on the disc works OK and the film plays all the way through :thumbsup:.

    I dont know if this would work on other titles ?.But it works on this one :)

    EDIT

    Other reported region A(region locked) titles that also work are(Which are all from New Line)...............

    (these also worked on a UK Sharp blu ray player)

    Hairspray
    Mr woodcock
    Rush Hour 3 (hmmm it's been reported that this one might not play on the UK PS3 ?.)
    The Golden Compass
    The Orphanage
    Harold and Kumar Escape from Guantanamo Bay

    Here's some pics

    Cover
    [​IMG]

    The back showing the region A
    [​IMG]

    The dreaded screen
    [​IMG]

    And after pressing the square button (or pressing the triangle then choosing Top Menu)
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2008
  2. dts197

    dts197
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4,542
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +526
    Good news! Let's hope this might work with other films (Fox titles in particular).
     
  3. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +143
    If this is a crack then I'd keep quiet on it or else the next PS3 update might wipe it out. ;)
     
  4. paulst10

    paulst10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    12,156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,612
    Has anyone got another disk they could try ??
     
  5. bertha

    bertha
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +113
    If this works then Ratatouille here I come:thumbsup:
     
  6. davidjohnson

    davidjohnson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,663
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +346
    I have tried this with Rocky Balboa, Casino Royale and The Prestige and it didn't work with any.

    What firmware is your PS3?
     
  7. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    The newest one out.

    I'm using a newly bought(4 weeks ago) 40GB PS3
     
  8. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    This definitely needs testing out ..... could be great news.

    Trouble is, if it worked, we may then get into a PSP situation where many people ignore firmware upgrades from 2.10 (1.5 in the case of the PSP).

    I'd love to be able to make the PS3 region free for both Blu-Rays and especially DVD's as I currently have to also maintain a region free upscaling DVD player.


    PS - I'd test it myself but I have no region locked Blu-Rays.
     
  9. MrSynner

    MrSynner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +82
    Just tried this with Rataouille, FF4 Silver Surfer (a Fox disc) and King Arthur - all Region A locked.

    And...... :thumbsdow

    Didn't work with any of 'em.
     
  10. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    2 things...........

    What happens when you clicked on the TOP MENU tab ?.

    And what is the company name on those you tried ?.

    The one that worked this way was from New Line.
     
  11. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    I dont get it.Why did the Shoot 'Em Up Blu Ray play ?
     
  12. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    For those testing it that can't get it to work, as a suggestion try pressing "square" when the region lock message comes up as that's the direct button for the menu I believe.

    Worth a go .....
     
  13. me-uk

    me-uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    could it be a issue with the region coding on the disc, rather than a general ps3 issue?
     
  14. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    Just tried that on my shoot em up disc and that worked.

    Has anyone els got this film in region A ?.Just to confirm it.
     
  15. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    That would be the conclusion - a loophole on this particular disc - unless someone gets a different movie to work.
     
  16. davidjohnson

    davidjohnson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,663
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +346
    It said "not available" :(

    2 Sony's and a Disney.
     
  17. tvmonkey

    tvmonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    878
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Aberdeen
    Ratings:
    +63
    Does Shoot-Em Up actually state on the back that it's Region A only as it's Region specificity isn't mentioned on any sites i've checked?
     
  18. Bribrian

    Bribrian
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,651
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Co.Antrim
    Ratings:
    +257
  19. me-uk

    me-uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    movietyme has also said that Shoot-em-Up is region locked.
     
  20. me-uk

    me-uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +83
    still it makes me wonder if this flax has been repeated on any other region A titles.
     
  21. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    Here you go

    Front cover
    [​IMG]

    Back cover, with the A
    [​IMG]
     
  22. Bittern

    Bittern
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +404
    Some more.............

    That dreaded screen
    [​IMG]

    Then after pressing the square button :D
    [​IMG]

    Just to prove i'm not making it up ;)
     
  23. davidjohnson

    davidjohnson
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    2,663
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +346
    AlanBryant

    Thank you for the tip, we didn't doubt you mate :)

    Welcome to AVF :thumbsup:
     
  24. 7hil

    7hil
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ratings:
    +143
    Pan's Labyrinth is a New Line title that is supposed to be region locked but is actually region free. I'm not saying that Shoot Em Up is also region free but it suggests that New Line don't seem to be region locking their titles very well.
     
  25. MarekM

    MarekM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    we need few more people to check this, and I am ordering right away from amazon.com :)

    Marek
     
  26. inzaman

    inzaman
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,964
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Derby
    Ratings:
    +1,029
    I'd be interested to know if this works with any other RA only titles, my only concern would be if this is rectified by a firmware upgrade.
     
  27. MarekM

    MarekM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    it's region free probably because it was released already in UK, and rest of europe..., they coded releases which are yet to be released (later then US release)

    Marek
     
  28. KeanosMagicHat

    KeanosMagicHat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,553
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    England, UK.
    Ratings:
    +553
    Good luck.

    Early signs are that it's not a "hack" that works on all titles unfortunately but even if it allows a few more to be played and Sony don't decide to be pedantic and block it with a future firmware upgrade then that is no bad thing.
     
  29. MarekM

    MarekM
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    yup I know that, I am happy even for this one title, because as far as I know UK release don't have DTS HD MA 7.1 !! hmm

    so :) I am glad ! that it is working on this title...(or other NEW LIN TITLES :)), I am sure it's error during authoring stage :)

    Marek
     
  30. Pincho Paxton

    Pincho Paxton
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    14,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +634
    Rather lucky in the end that you had one of the few titles that actually can be bypassed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice