1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I've got a ragged right edge (sometimes)!

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Desert Rain, Jan 12, 2003.

  1. Desert Rain

    Desert Rain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southend on Sea, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    On my new panny TX32PL10. It only seems to happen on some cable channels (telewest analogue) and is most odd.

    It doesn't do it with DVD, VHS, PS2 or terrestrial input, so I figure it must be something to do with certain cable broadcasts. The only way to get rid of it on these channels is to force 16:9 and then the picture looks wrong anyway. It's as if the broadcast picture actually has a ragged right edge, which instead of being hidden slightly behind the black boarder of the tube is on display.

    Has anyone else had a similar experience or got any ideas. At first I thought it must be a fault with the telly, but now I am not so certain
    :confused:
     
  2. Desert Rain

    Desert Rain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southend on Sea, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone??
     
  3. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,267
    I've seen this on the odd satellite broadcast. It's a minor side effect of the decryption process and is usually hidden by the overscan on the TV. Sounds like the TV may require slight adjustment.
     
  4. Desert Rain

    Desert Rain
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Southend on Sea, Essex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers GaryB

    That pretty much agrees with my own thoughts. I have requested an engineer to come and look at the set. I don't think that this is something that is user adjustable, so hopefully it is something that can be tweaked from inside. Otherwise the TV has a very good picture with none of the problems that have been reported here on these forums.
     
  5. GaryB

    GaryB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    St Albans
    Ratings:
    +1,267
    With most modern sets you can do this from the Service Menu. A hunt around here or the Web should find out how to get to it. If you're feeling brave you may want to have a go yourself.
     

Share This Page

Loading...