I've found my PCH problem! (kind of)

Smurfin

Distinguished Member
Hi all

Some of you may have read my despairing posts about the Popcorn Hour A110, with it juddering on various .ts rips - both streamed over my network and from the internal HDD.

It's been incredibly frustrating, but I think I've found (partly) the root cause of the problem. I've been convinced I'm ripping how it should be done, and it led me to buying another PCH to compare to mine (which was DOA)....I've got them both on an RMA, but the last 24 hours I've been tinkering again. And you know what? - I think I've almost solved the problem.

On another thread there were discussions about Cars, where several people have experienced problems. On the NMT forums another person mentioned they'd had problems, but only at a certain refresh rate i.e. 23.976hz.

For some reason it sparked an idea, so I started playing around with the settings on my PCH. I changed it to 1080p/60....and hey presto, all of a sudden those files which weren't playing now do:eek:

Wall*E was stuttering in exactly the same place, as was Hancock, and all of a sudden they're output properly on my plasma. Now it's not perfect: the scene where we see Wall*E moving amongst the junk from above still has the odd issue - he jerks a little across the ground and this is still annoying and still unacceptable....but for now I reckon I can live with it.

I have the Pio LX6090 plasma, which is a native 1080p/24 panel. However, the settings on the panel mean that even at a different refresh rate, it still corrects motion judder so this problem may only apply to me (or those who also have a Kuro). But it works...almost.

I'm wondering now if the PCH outputs 23.976 or 24hz correctly, because it's made all the difference on my setup. I also wonder if anything will be in the next firmware to make this more stable. It does seem, however, that the PCH can handle uncompressed BluRay rips:thumbsup:

Any thoughts?