itv local news

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by tristan2, Feb 10, 2009.

  1. tristan2

    tristan2

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    hi is there a way of changing the region of my local news on my sky hd box as im getting meridian and i live in cheltenham,gloucestershire:(
     
  2. kenedin

    kenedin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +312
    There were some transponder changes late last year. Some of those changes affected ITV Meridian. If your viewing card is registered to your Cheltenham address, you should perform a New Installation. Press Services, 4, 0, 1, & Select. Choose Option 6 and follow the onscreen instructions. Your digibox will rescan channels and store according to your region.

    If no joy then, you can either phone Sky for advice, or manually Add Channels. See here.

    ps 1907hrs. Just remembered. Some ITV Regions have 'sub' regions for local news purposes. These are often not broadcast on the Sky platform, although you may get them from local terrestrial transmitters.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  3. chris02

    chris02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +7
    Also live in Chelt and I have manually set the box to receive ITV from Bristol (ITV West) as they cover us and up to Tewks.

    Details as to setting can be found here:

    Astra 28.2E Tests & Other Channels
     
  4. tristan2

    tristan2

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    cheltenham
    Ratings:
    +47
    THANKS now stored in other channels
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  5. wednesday83

    wednesday83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +22
    I heard ITV were getting rid of some regions by merging ones together. Anyone know about this and if so does that mean more bandwith for the existing ITV channels???
     
  6. BrianMc

    BrianMc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,262
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +155
    This is starting to occur - Meridian is now broadcasting just one Local News for their entire area - as from Monday this week (replaces three versions previously!)

    There are, however, no changes to the satellite responders used. It is not clear (to me!) if this will eventually happen - or if the old sub-regions will still exist (but only for advertisers!)
     
  7. wednesday83

    wednesday83
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,226
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +22
    Surely the logical option would be to axe all the regions and just let the beeb do local news.
     
  8. reddevil63

    reddevil63
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Disney Florida's Twinned Town
    Ratings:
    +851
    True.

    Am on ITV Central South but getting Meridian now which is dama no good as it doesn't cover my area which is stupid! :thumbsdow

    Going to stick to BBC West.
     

Share This Page

Loading...