iTunes helper bug

Discussion in 'iPhone Forum' started by Broch, Jan 22, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've was running iTunes no problem on Windows Vista until a few days ago. Hit a problem that iTunes helper would not open. Tried searching for this but couldn't find anything ist.

    Thought I'd download Quicktime/iTunes and then un-install original version.
    However got stuck. Everytime I select download from Apple website IE shuts down and then reopens at my homepages.

    I'm reluctant to uninstall iTunes until I know all the steps in case I mess up my iTunes library.

    Anyone know how I can get round this :lease:
     
  2. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,421
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Have you tried restarting the service ?
     
  3. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your suggestion :) Yes when I click the iTunes icon it says
    "Itunes has stopped working. Windows is checking for a solution to the problem" It then suggested going to the Apple Inc website. I'm back to where I started as I'm thrown out of the Apple website.
     
  4. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've loaded up Firefox browser and managed to download iTunes and Quick-time from a mirror site.

    If I un-install the current iTunes and Quick-time are there other files I should be looking for or will the un-install clean everything ?
     
  5. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,421
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187

    It will remove everything for you ;)
     
  6. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yikes. iTunes un-installed fine. While un-installing quicktime I've received an error message. The installer encountered errors before the requested operations for quicktime could be completed.
     
  7. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,421
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Try it from the add/remove option.
     
  8. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    This didn't work.

    Thought the manual un-install may be the route to go.

    I then tried to delete \quicktime under Program files... no can do.
    Tried renaming it... still no can do.

    This is a stuburn [email protected]>

    Know of the software equivalent of a blow torch to remove this ?
     
  9. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    37,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,591
    Start > run > type msconfig... go to startup tab and untick all iPod and quicktime references. Please don't go crazy here on other processes - google as some are essential to your system!

    I would restart your PC... then try to uninstall iTunes and Quicktime under add/remove in the control panel

    Then use ccleaner again. If you haven't already, be sure to untick the boxes to delete your browser history and saved forms ;) Can be annoying mistake if you browse that way
     
  10. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Got this far as I only had to untick Quicktime as iTunes already uninstalled.

    After that had the same problem with uninstalled from add/remove.
    Similarly can't rename nor delete \quicktime in program files :confused:
     
  11. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    37,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,591
    Well you can use a program like 'unlocker' to delete files in explorer...

    Thing is I do not know how it would affect the quicktime uninstaller... what is the message you get when you attempt under add/remove?
     
  12. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this work with Vista?

    I get no message at all. Just follow the prompts and then nothing happens.
    I then tried the uninstall from the Start, Program, Quicktime option :confused:
    The message is
    "The installer encountered errors before the requested operations for quicktime could be completed. "
     
  13. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup::thumbsup: it worked. Initially quicktime would not delete with unlocker but it said it would delete in a batch file when the computer was restarted.
    Folder is now gone.
    Went to add/remove and uninstall option for Quicktime was still listed.
    Pressed uninstall. Few seconds later it was gone.
    Thank you for both your help.

    Now before I think about reinstalling QT and iTunes is there anything else I should make sure is no longer on the hard drive?
     
  14. Broch

    Broch
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    NE Scotland
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a note to say I'm now up an running :smashin:
     
  15. thermos017

    thermos017
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Coeur D'Alene, Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    good to see you got it fixed. i'd like to offer an additional comment for anyone who finds this forum looking for a fix as i did. the problem is caused by a file that cannot be deleted in the quicktime folder, and is very easy to fix.

    if you search for "CFCharacterSetBitmaps.bitmap" or navigate to "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTSystem" you will find the file. as i said, it cannot be deleted, however it can be moved to another location on the c drive. move the file to your desktop or anywhere outside the program files folder, then run the install again.

    if the install still fails, then you'll have to double check that the file mentioned above was not regenerated in the install attempt, and remove the QT program through control panel. once the file is removed, the control panel can remove the whole program, then the reinstall will work just fine.

    took me over a week to find this fix, and now i'm kicking myself for not looking there before.
     
  16. RicardoVerdi

    RicardoVerdi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been struggling with itunes for a while. it works fine, but I keep getting messages asking me whether I want to install the latest version. I download them, then it says the file bonjour.msi or itunes.msi (and others) are on a network resource that is unavailable, even though the correct .msi file is in the specified folder. So normaly I ignore these upgrades, but as itunes is up to version 9 I thought I would try it. No success yet, I deleted all quicktime references, and went through the registry & deleted all quicktime references there too. It still won't install, but when I click on the quicktime.msi it says "The installer encountered errors before the requested operations for Quicktime could be completed" I will keep trying, but I'd love to know which itunes files I should keep to keep my itunes folders & podcasts. Anyone know? I can't even open itunes now as I've deleted quicktime.:lease:

    What I mean is, as quicktime (7.64.17.73) wouldn't re-install I tried to delete all references to the previous installation in the hope that the new version would install. I used Windows Install Clean Up & tried control panel add/remove, but it's not there now. I haven't tried unlocker, should I? Also, should I uninstall itunes before I try to install version 9? I'm using Windows XP
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...