iTunes could not backup the iPad because the iPad is disconnected

Discussion in 'iPad Forum' started by Theydon Bois, Jul 12, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    Grrrr........:mad:

    It goes to backup, but as my backup takes ages, I cancel that to sync it with a few apps I got, then it flashes up this message and bombs out.

    Anyone?
     
  2. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,745
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +13,457
    Do you use it on your Macbook? I'd probably reset it, or take it back...You seem to have slow sync problems and now this...Something is not right...

    Have you done the permissions verification and repair in Disk Utility?
     
  3. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    No, whats that?

    Edit: Oh you mean through Mac OSX rather than through the iPad. The iPad is not show in disk utility :confused:

    I am running a restore now and see if that sorts things. My slow syncs I believe are Comic Zeal related, but I can confirm this myself now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2010
  4. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,745
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +13,457
    I meant through Mac OSX and against the Mac's hard drive...A lot of the time when you have 'weird' stuff happening it could be some wrong permissions on a file....Always the first thing to do...
     
  5. jonbags

    jonbags
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    I get that from time to time but it still syncs. You know you can set it to not auto backup dont you??
     
  6. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    K, thanks for that - I am mid way through a restore now. Will add all my apps and tunes back, then add my comics back and see how it goes. It has not given me that message or any other error yet, and I am half way through.
     
  7. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,745
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +13,457
    You can run the permission check in parallel :)
     
  8. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    Thanks again D, All seemed good last night.

    The restore done and my iPad synced with the couple of Gb of music and 4?Gb of apps I had no connections issues and the backups were nice and quick. As it was about 1230am by the time I was done, I quickly added a handful of comics back, and did a quick sync but that is no real test and will have a go tonight after loading up a ton of comics to see if its all been 'fixied'.
     
  9. mark1000

    mark1000
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    5,935
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +863
    No, how do you do this please.


    Mark.
     
  10. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    About 7Gb in total on my iPad, including 1Gb of comics. Backup took approx 11 minutes. No error messages. :smashin:

    Copying a shed load over now.
     
  11. jonbags

    jonbags
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
  12. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    11Gb, approx 5Gb of comics now, backup took just over 2 hours..... :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  13. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,745
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +13,457
    Strange that is, I've got about 18Gb on there at the moment and backup takes less than 2 minutes...But I've only got about 500Mb of comics, strictly only the Authority...Behave :D

    Wonder whether there is a bug with that app in how it stores its files on there.....
     
  14. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    D, is that through ComicZeal or Comixology?

    I will raise the point with CZ I think.
     
  15. Bl4ckGryph0n

    Bl4ckGryph0n
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    39,745
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ::1/128
    Ratings:
    +13,457
    That is using Cloudreaders, it's a free very basic reader but does the job...
     
  16. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    16,161
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sauf Lunden
    Ratings:
    +7,222
    Yep, I did a comparison with CZ - have there been any CR updates that would change what I have bolded?

     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice