1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Its been a while without one, so here is another what do i buy post!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by electrify_dizz, Feb 15, 2003.

1. electrify_dizz

electrify_dizz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, here goes!!

I'm a poor student, who has somehow managed to save £450 to try and get a home cinema set up. Obviously I wont be getting anything too flash, but i was hoping you guys could give me some advice, and possibly recommend me some equipment!

I'm looking to get a multi-region player, an amp/reciever and 2 front, 2 rear and a centre speaker.

What do you guys recommend? I like the look of the Toshiba SD 220e as a dvd player, but what about the amp and speakers?

I was looking at the liberty 5 speaker set up (249.99) with the yamaha RXV430RDS (199.95), all from Richer Sounds, but sadly i can't afford it all, it kinda blows by budget by about £150 by the time i think about wiring as well!!

So does anyone have any recommendations for me??

2. Rasczak

Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,203
    Not being funny or anything but if your budget is £450 have you considered an 'all in one' solution. I know they are not popular and they will never be in the same league as seperates but it might suit your budget better.

3. electrify_dizz

electrify_dizz

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I have looked. But the way I'm thinking is if i get sepeartes, i can gradually replace elements of it until I get a pretty good set up!!

How much should i be looking to spend to get a lower end system then?

4. petrolhead

petrolhead

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +81
    How about this lot for £420, which is what I now have as asecond system.

Tosh 120E MR £100