1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ITS A PWD6........But what Else

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by KenMac, Oct 25, 2004.

  1. KenMac

    KenMac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :thumbsup: Well, looking at the forum and all the threads, I think its the Panny PWD6 but I think that was the easy bit.

    At the same time I want to replace my current Home Cinema System (its really old) and therefore want to get something that it compatible with the PWD6.

    What should I go for?

    Am also completely lost on how to and what I should use to connect it all together, I have SKY+ as well.

    Hope someone can help yet another Plasma Techno Virgin

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. daz500

    daz500
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too recently got my PW6 plasma screen. I ended up buying a component board (BNC connection type) and a JS scart-YUV converter (discounted from AV-Sales). I know that it's possible to use the VGA connector but I decided against it.

    I used a high quality scart lead from the SKY+ box into the JS converter. From the JS converter, I ran some cable supplied by (yes you guessed it) AV-Sales to the screen. I'm using the amplifier to switch the component video signals instead of running everything directly to the screen or some type of junction box.

    I'm still trying to decided on a DVD player to hook up to the screen and for now I'm using the XBOX which has been set to progressive scan mode.

    I'm very happy with my set-up and can't wait to get a decent DVD player to really test out the PQ.
     
  3. KenMac

    KenMac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the info, what are you using as speakers at the moment. I didnt think the PWD6 came with any
     
  4. daz500

    daz500
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm using B&W 600 series 3 :D

    - 604 floor standers,
    - lcr600 centre
    - 600 rear fill

    This is all powered by an older Denon A1-D THX amp.
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Ken, have a lookat what Bakero is thinking of, you have the opportunity to do the same, witha Denon 2805 or 3805, or an Onkyo TX-SR801 which is what I'd recommend for Bakero, as he has a PC in his setup, and it can stream WMA and MP3 from a PC. The 2 zone bit enables you to get some mileage out of picture in picture.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
  7. KenMac

    KenMac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys for your help. It is a bit of a minefield for us newbies :rolleyes:
     
  8. Cool Man

    Cool Man
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    On a similar note, of what else for the PW6...to get the best PQ the consensus seems to be

    i) buy the component board - for connecting to DVD/All in One system
    ii) buy the JS RGB>VGA converter to connect to a SKY box

    Is this correct. Also do i need to buy any other boards now to handle the addition of a DVD recorder, Playstation or PC.

    Appreciate your help in advance. :)
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Cool man, you've got a pile of kit to connect, I'd have a look at thay component video switch AV sales have got. Way cheaper than loads of boards, and simpler too. Must be good.
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218

Share This Page

Loading...