It's a Minefield.........Help please.!!!!

S

smurch1

Hi, all. I am a newbie to the forum, so I'll start by saying how grateful I am at all the info I have read from here so far.

Ok, I am about to take the leap and get myself a Plasma.

Questions: Mainly can I expect comparable PQ to my current CRT Sony 32FX65 100hz.
Current setup. Tv: as above, Sky digital, DVD (Limit 9900) progressive scan capable but not used at present, Panasonic SVHS Vid, PS2, Sony HTK215 DTS/DD sound system (a bit limp i know, but the wife likes it as it takes little space :blush: ) and occasionally DV camcorder(not really an issue as I edit my footage onto DVD-r).

So my requirement from my proposed Plasma would be to accomodate all the above and perhaps in the future have my PC hooked up as well.
I sort of narrowed it down to either a Panasonic H42PWD6B or a Hitachi 42PD5200/5300. I read a previous thread on this subject and people seem v happy with both though there were some issues over buzzing and prog Scan with the hitachi's.

So any help, links, places to buy, advice, just about anything will very much be appreciated as now my head is spinning :zonked:

cheers

Si.

Many will tell you that the displays you mention are not high enough resolution for pc..... my feeling is they would probably be fine for a small amount of use. Videowise, the picture may well not be as good as your crt..... again people will disagree but you might need to consider a better prog scan player or external video processor

ad