1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Italian TVs!

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by jamez, May 10, 2003.

  1. jamez

    jamez
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couple of nice girls have moved in upstairs (1 Italian, 1 English) and have brought with them their television from Italy (can't remember off hand what make or model but it looks pretty basic). They've plugged it in with an adapter, but unfortunately although the picture is fine, the sound is just a constant buzzing.

    Now I realise they wire things up a bit differently over in Italy but has anyone got any ideas on whether I can easily fix their TV for them and get a few brownie points at the same time?!

    All help will be much appreciated. ;)

    Cheers
     
  2. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    In the UK we use PAL-I, in Italy, PAL-G and PAL-B... although the picture is encoded in the same way the sound carrier is different (5.5MHz vs. 6.0MHz). Unless the TV has a menu (or service menu) that allows you to change to "Unkited Kingdom" or PAL-I, I'm afraid the "nice girls" will have to buy another TV ;)
     
  3. jamez

    jamez
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for clearing that up. Guess now I'll have to think of another way to earn those brownie points! At least I can stop them wasting their money on the dodgy TV repair shop down the road!
     
  4. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    17,967
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +4,937
    u need a UHF <-> VHF convertor, about £50....
     
  5. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,975
    If the said TV has a SCART or other AV Line inputs on it, it may be cheaper to source a cheap, possibly used, VCR, to use as a tuner.
     
  6. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    How will this help fix the sound carrier issue? It appears the TV already has a UHF tuner as pictures can be seen.

    nigel's VCR idea would work a treat.
     
  7. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,100
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +712
    The VCR would work.
    Other solution would be a $ky Digibox + FTV (Free To View) card as this will get all the terrestrial channels but via Astra satellite
    at 28 degrees (+ BBC News 24 & 5 or 6 other useful channels).
    Connect digibox to TV via SCART input.
    A Freeview set-top box would also work.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    A cheap VCR is the best bet! as long as they have some sort of AV input. RS do some very cheap ones start at £40 i think and so do dixons refurb Matsui/Grundig for £50 ish
     

Share This Page

Loading...