IT "consultant" in Stockport area?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Keiron, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    I have spent way too much time (and money) over the last couple of weeks trying to get my Synology NAS working properly. I get slow transfers (possibly due to my PC rather than the NAS) and I cannot configure it to allow access over the internet.

    I have tried the online help for Synology and they are useless. The forums there are poor too. People here have been extremely patient but alas, it still doesn't work properly.

    I'm now prepared to pay someone to come and have a go.

    Does anyone know anyone around the Stockport area? Also any idea how much I should be paying? My guess is it shouldn't take more than 90 mins - if they can't work it out in the first half hour, they never are going to.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  2. marshallp

    marshallp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +24
    What sort of transfer speeds are you experiencing?

    Also, why don't you use something like DropBox to store files online rather than opening ports on your home network?
     
  3. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    About 10MBps (was hoping for at least 4 x that)



    A NAS is a different beast entirely!
     
  4. marshallp

    marshallp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +24
    I need a little more information about your setup.

    I assume the SYNOLOGY is connected via CAT5, into what?
    Are you transferring files over WiFi or CAT5?
    What type of files are you transfering?

    Accessing a NAS drive over the internet isn't all its cracked up to be unless you have an outstanding internet connection. If your planning to move large files or access multimedia content think again, it will be very frustrating!!
     
  5. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    Thanks. I do have a couple of (long!) threads running and wouldn't wish to start a new one here but any tips are gratefully received!

    slow transfers
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/networking-nas/1566173-slow-transfer-speeds-synology-nas.html

    remote access
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/networking-nas/1569153-open-port-tp-link-td-w8960n-router.html


    Cat 6 in fact. Have tried through a gigabit switch and directly from PC to NAS

    Cat6

    Everything from small documents to 35GB blu ray ISO rips

    The main reason for remote access is so I can view and listen to my media files on iPad, iPhone etc. The Synology apps for browsing and replaying are very good - if only I could get them to work outside of my house (ie I can get them working on Wifi - is that the LAN? - but not over the internet or 3G - the WAN?)
     
  6. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    Anyone know anyone, please? I have a very expensive paperweight in urgent need of attention.
     
  7. dannycorker

    dannycorker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    The ethernet port on the PC definitely gigabit not just 100? That was the problem I had that resulted in me only getting 10MB/s. I live near you, but unfortunately couldn't really recccomend anyone professional.
     
  8. Keiron

    Keiron
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    3,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Stockport
    Ratings:
    +113
    Thanks dannycorker, yes it's gigabit. I'm reckoning I've spen tthe best part of 100 hours trying to set up my NAS. I take one step forward, 2 back and I have now officially given up on trying to do it myself.

    If anyone knows anyone - or indeed any support I can get that will take over my PC remotely to fix my problems - please let me know.
     
  9. bryanchicken

    bryanchicken
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +155
    are you able to try different cables? I had a PC that only connected at 10Mbps and it turns out its because some of the cores in the network cable weren't terminated properly.
    If i understand it correctly gigabit speed needs more pairs of cores than 10 or 100.

    Does the NAS say anywhere what link speed its got? There must be a way to find out. On linux i use 'ethtool' but i don't know whether it will be available for your NAS. Maybe the UI says?
     
  10. rampant

    rampant
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,254
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Sarf est near londoninium
    Ratings:
    +885
    on your network card have you turned off auto detect and selected 100/full duplex as the connection type?

    also is your switch / hub manageable and can you do the same there?

    auto detect negotiates each packet with yuur hub - this is the biggest slow down ever
     
  11. rampant

    rampant
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,254
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Sarf est near londoninium
    Ratings:
    +885
    or if your hub supports it select 1000/full duplex
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice