1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iscan pro vs quadscan pro..

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by museumsteve, May 22, 2002.

1. museumsteve

museumsteve

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,020
    I currently have a Quadscan pro onloan from a friend for a few days and have to say we were blown away once we set things up. I have US Xbox and pioneer 939-A so I've been enjoying PS through my Panny for a few months now but got fed up with unacceptable PAL pictures from DVD, games and Sky Digital. As I write this I'm watching Three Kings on Sky and the quality is the same as PS I get from my Reg 1 movies..
    The only option I have (due to limited cabling here) is component into Quadscan and HD15 to Panny therefore using VGA or SVGA output from Quadscan. Am I right in assuming I'm getting equivalent of 480p at the moment.??
    Would I get something different if I used HD15 to component in on Panny..and finally would I benefit more from an iscan..??
    If I would or it's recommended I take a look at one is there anywhere I can get a loan unit for a few days (for a fee of course)..
    At the moment I really don;t want to give this back..;)

2. gizlaroc

gizlaroc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +646
    if you set it to line double you are getting 480p.

and considering you can buy one for $499 at the mo from avs forums, i would have to say go with the quadscan, I have :)

you want to try it with line double rather than vga or svga, to see which gives the best results.

all of them are progressive just different resolutions.

3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,803
    If you set it to line double you are getting 576P I believe....with PAL on Sky.