iScan Pro HD +

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Edgeyboy, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. Edgeyboy

    Edgeyboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +176
    Hi

    I am thinking of buying an iScan Pro HD +.

    I want to connect my Pioneer 868 by HDMI to DVI-D (HDCP) interlaced to the iScan, let the iScan scale it (perhaps to 720p), and output it by analogue RGB plus SYNC to my SONY CRT.

    Will it let me do this ?

    Many thanks.
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    not sure about HD+ but Iscan HD DVi input was a passthrough so didnt scale the image just allowed you to use iscan and DVi source into display as most only have one DVi input
     
  3. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    I believe as with other HDCP compliant scalers, the IScan HD+ won't output HDCP encoded material via analogue, only by the DVI output.
     
  4. Edgeyboy

    Edgeyboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +176
    Thanks for the replies.

    What I want to avoid is the extra A/D conversion, hence the question.

    Will the iScan HD+ allow conversion from DVI (HDCP) to RGB HV without scaling then ?

    If the iScan HD+ won't allow it, will any others ? I think Crystalio does by SDI but it is a little rich, financially, for my blood.
     
  5. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    why convert DVi-D to RGBHV?
     
  6. Laura

    Laura
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Messages:
    397
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    Ratings:
    +24
    Pretty sure none of the scalers will do want you want.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,073
    No scalers will take in an encrypted digital signal and output them analogue. Many will take in an unencrypted digital signal and output it analogue (SDI with Iscan/Crystalio/Vigatec/FocusEnhancements and of course....Lumagen).


    Gordon
     
  8. Edgeyboy

    Edgeyboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2000
    Messages:
    3,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Ratings:
    +176
    Thanks for the replies guys.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice