1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

iScan HD Settings for Panny PW6

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by PaulCaden, May 13, 2005.

  1. PaulCaden

    PaulCaden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I will (hopefully) be taking delivery of an iScan HD shortly and would like a gentle push in the right direction re resolution and frequency settings etc.

    The input to the plasma will be via PC - all inputs to the iScan are component.

    Any pointers/tips would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    Whilst I don't have an Iscan you could try 720p @ 59.94hz for NTSC and 600p @ 50.00hz for PAL. Output from my Lumagen is RGBHV into the PC Input on my Panny 42PWD6. :)
     
  3. PaulCaden

    PaulCaden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for this. And how is the picture quality compared with the 'au natural' settings of the Panny?
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +827
    These give me the best image quality. I've also tried 480p direct from the DVD player via Component as well as 480p, 576p and 720p via Component from the Scaler. Can't try anything else direct as I only have the standard PC Input and the BNC Component Board.
     
  5. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I use RGBHV with 720p and 50Hz locked as 50Hz and 60Hz locked as 60Hz.

    The SD Pannys are known to give their best via analogue using 720p due to oversampling.

    Theres quite a lot of info on settings and setup if you have a dig in this forum (quite a few posts by me ;-) )

    Enjoy the new toy, once setup it realy does get the best out of the screen...

    Cheers

    JJ
     
  6. PaulCaden

    PaulCaden
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got the new toy! Looks awesome on 576p - tried 720p but the I don't see the whole picture (the right edge is off the screen) and I can't figure out how to make the screen fit apart from fiddling with the actual screen controls. Shrinking the picture down this way leaves the control setting positions looking at bit extreme! Hope I'm making sense...

    I feel I'm missing out :(
     
  7. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +127
    Hi just had mine a few days now, this is what I have done so far.

    1. Plug the iSCAN into the PC input on the TV, set the output to XGA.
    2. Set the Framerate 50Hz > 50 Hz Lock & 60Hz > 60Hz Lock.
    3. Then look at the test patern 1 (FGEO) and make it fit the screen using the TV's remote (Picture pos/size) H+V-Size & H+V Pos.
    4. Then next tweak it to get 1:1 pixel match, go to the test patern 4 (VLIN) and use the H-Size on tv to get rid of the moire pattern (1:1 pixels), once done, flick back to test patter 1 and center using just H-Pos. Now do the same the other way, go to test patter 5 (HLIN) adjust using V-Size to get rid of moire, then once done center using test pattern 1 and just V-Pos. Now put on an NTSC DVD and repeat.

    This is as far as I have got so far. Any tips appreciated! :)
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Tip 1:
    Get peirs to come and ISF it, with the screen set to optimum and the Iscan feeding it optimum you will have an incredible setup............. see www.homecinemaengineering.com for more details
     
  9. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +127
    I would definately, but I think I'll wait till I get a PHD8 in the autumn before getting an ISF expert round!

    Seems a bit of a waist for just 4-5 months and then do it all again. Also hopefully I'll be spending too must of the summer in a beer garden somewhere! :D
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    LOL upgraditis?
     
  11. Thatsnotmynaim

    Thatsnotmynaim
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    Ratings:
    +127
    Hmm, maybe a little. I've just borrowed a Naim DVD5 from my local dealer! WOW, I may not take it back.
     

Share This Page

Loading...