Iscan HD+ & Pioneer DV-868AVI

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Elephant Man, Nov 2, 2005.

  1. Elephant Man

    Elephant Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi

    What is the best setting to set the 868 via hdmi for this scaler.

    Thanks
     
  2. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    The HD+ cannot interpret interlaced HDMI signals. I would run an interlaced component connection rather than HDMI. If you run HDMI then you are using the deinterlacing in the player, making the HD+ a bit redundant really!!!
     
  3. JavierS

    JavierS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Liam,
    This changed with the latest firmware, th HD+ now accepts DVI/HDMI 480i/576i in RGB 4:4:4 format. Specifially mentions the 59AVi which is the US 868, if th 989 is like its predecessor it should work too.
    Chek here: http://www.dvdo.com/update/hdp_6-7_2-91.php
     
  4. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    In that case ignore what I said!!
     
  5. Elephant Man

    Elephant Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7

    So I just need to changed the settings in my player to output 480i/576i over hdmi?
     
  6. JavierS

    JavierS
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have the latest firmware installed in the HD+, then yes as long as you choose RGB 4:4:4 format.
     
  7. Elephant Man

    Elephant Man
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    335
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +7
    Thanks
     
  8. Cummo

    Cummo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    Ratings:
    +1
    The other nice addition in the software upgrade was the inclusion on the 4 configureable outputs which allows multiple resolutions to be assigned to 2 different displays connected to the digital and analogue outputs.
     
  9. NonPayingMember

    NonPayingMember
    Previously Liam @ Prog AV

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,525
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +830
    About bloody time. Although the Lumagen has eight memories LOL!
     
  10. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,807
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Do any of the usual suspect scalers have triggers? If not, I guess a custom RS232 solution is required.
     
  11. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +184
    I briefly flirted with i576 HDMI from 868 into my hd+, but I found p576 HDMI better, sadly I noticed that there was alot of interlace shimmering going on when outputting i576, less when film mode on the HD+ was selected, but still quit a bit. My conclusion was the pioneer was a better deinterlacer than the IScan. Of coarse the HD+ scales to 720P much better than the dvd player.
     
  12. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +943
    Well that bothers me, because I was thinking of getting an 868AVi instead of the usual Denon because you can get 576i over HDMI for a scaler.

    This defeats the point of having a separate de-interlacer. Has anyone else seen this?

    Nick :(
     
  13. cheechy

    cheechy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Messages:
    526
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Does this mean that you've had to ditch using HDMI in favour of component?
     
  14. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +184
    No, just export 576p from the dvd player.
    I might give 576i-component a go if I ever get some decent cables. I assume RGBs scart to hd+ is a no-no on quality grounds?
     
  15. Welwynnick

    Welwynnick
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Welwyn, Herts
    Ratings:
    +943
    RGBs shouldn't be too bad, but component would probably be better just for the connectors.

    nick
     
  16. Chris5

    Chris5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,305
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Herts., uk
    Ratings:
    +184
    I just tried RGBs with a Squart cable I had lying around and the picture was much too soft & blury, I've gone straight back to DVI
     

Share This Page

Loading...