1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iscan HD or PC with Dscaler to TH42PHD6?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by zAndy1, Jun 11, 2004.

  1. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,386
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,497
    As subject really, what's going to be best in terms of PQ? I would guess the Iscan HD will win in the useability stakes but the PC should do a good job over VGA to the panny I suspect.

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  2. andyatkins

    andyatkins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good question - I'm thinking the same. I've read elsewhere on the forum that in terms of iScan Vs Dscaler, one is better at Video sources & the other is better at Film sources - but can't remember which is better at which, sorry!

    As I've got a reasonbly up-to-date PC at home my view is to experiment with Dscaler - it costs alot less even with a posh video card - & like all well supported public domain software you know it's going to be constantly updapted. Ultimatly if it works well then you can invest less than half the money of the iScan in a decent HCPC setup & get a high quality DVD player / recorder & MP3 player into the bargain.

    I'm dubious about the iScan - the Manufacturer decided not to stump up for the HDCP licence fee & so it's not supported. Makes you wonder what other evolving standards will end up leaving their user-base high & dry.
     
  3. zAndy1

    zAndy1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19,386
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +6,497
    I thought HDCP was supported by the IScan HD? I've already got my HTPC hooked up to my Sanyo Z2, this is the problem, I want it connecting to my plasma as well and at a different resolution to the Z2 which is 1280 x 720 but I don't think it's possible to do it. I'll hook up the PC to see how it looks anyway, can't wait to see some hidef stuff on the panny HD I bet it looks awesome!

    Cheers,
    Andy.
     
  4. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  5. andyatkins

    andyatkins
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Interesting way of supporting HDCP by not scaling any HDCP encoded sources - not sure I'd call it supporting the standard if I'd spent £1k on a scaler that wouldn't scale....
     
  6. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Fair point, and you are absolutely right...

    However in my assessment of a scaler available NOW which met all my critieria then the HD met it...support for HDCP scaling was of no real interest to me in the short to medium term...this may be a little shortsighted for some of you guys, but you can never fully futureproof anyhow...

    If, and when, I do get HDCP sources I will probs look at an upgrade anyhow as by then things will have probs moved forward with HDMI and HDCP...

    JJ
     

Share This Page

Loading...