1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is xbox composite, s-video or something else?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by pipedream72, Jan 26, 2005.

1. pipedream72

pipedream72

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new to all this so please bear with me. I've just bought a Yamaha r-xv650 so that I can get surround sound for DVD's and gaming. I use my XBox for both.

My xbox is currently connected to an RGB Scart input on my TV using the standard AV cable. I think I'm right in saying that this cable incorporates audio (L + R) and composite video. So question 1 is:

Q1 - Can an RGB scart input somehow handle audio and also a composite video signal?

An alternative to the AV cable is the 'Advanced scart cable'. The xbox website describes this as 'connects the console to TVs equipped with a SCART input terminal and enables RGB video signals for improved video output'. For some reason I thought that this cable supported S-video, but either way my second and third questions are;

Q2 - How can the same output on the XBOX support different video signals? Does it detect the advanced cable and switch the video?

Q3 - If I get the advanced AV cable so that I can get the digital sound, what is the output video signal and which video in should I be connecting to on my amp?

To add to my confusion, the xbox hookup guide on the Monster Cables site, shows that you can have composite (I think?), S-video or COmponent video out of an xbox. This leads to my next question:

Q4 - Since I don't have component inputs on my TV, am I right in thinking that there is no point in using component between the xbox and the amp?

Finally, the manual for my amp suggests that I use the VIDEO AUX terminals on the front for my xbox. I don't really want to have cables hanging out so: