is WyreStorm Matrix a leading brand?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by homenet, Jul 19, 2015.

  1. homenet

    homenet
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    One Is HDbaseT which is a given standard. For me it's all I'll deploy as results are far more reliable. That said the QI matrix is ok if it works within your system. HD base is a good investment. I've got that particular matrix deployed and they have worked ok so far. Neither of those units are 4k from memory.
     
  3. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    HDBaseT only for us as well.
     
  4. homenet

    homenet
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am interested in the Mx-0404-PP. Would you recommend it. Have you had any problems with it so far and what is the build quality like? Does would it carry an internet signal. IE would I be able to watch sky catchup in all zones?
     
  5. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    No it doesnt carry internet, better to run a separate cable for that
     
  6. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Though just to check what do you actually mean by Sky CatchUp, do you mean Sky Go ?
     
  7. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    Sky catchup will give you one stream through the box.
    It has no ethernet distribution.
    The only issue ive had have been the outputs locking caused by a sky update.
    Some diy users will have issues accommodating the 12v power supplies that the unit comes with and will buy different units. The receivers have screw connectors so you may need to play a bit.
    The build is ok for the price
     
  8. homenet

    homenet
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
    what is the speed of the input change? Also what is the boot up time - this is important as I see it does not support Hot plugging?
     
  9. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    NO HDMI device should be hot plugged so isnt unique to this matrix.
    Why are you thinking of removing and changing HDMI cables as normally a matrix is configured and then rarely changed ?
     
  10. homenet

    homenet
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    bangor
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is one that supports it. If I want to use my laptop as an output.....not uncommon.
     
  11. Member 581642

    Member 581642
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    11,106
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,501
    Its not uncommon to hotplug but is definitely not a supported feature and can lead to damage to HDMI circuit boards.
     
  12. shortyav

    shortyav
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,135
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +137
    I would so advise against hot plugging.
    The matrix switches instantly
    Handshaking can vary depending upon individual setup, I've never set up without a control system which can mean a second or so extra delay is built in for commands. It's not lightening quick but it isn't tediously slow. Delay shouldn't be such an issue in most systems, if it is really important I'd look at why and if there is a design element to make things faster.
     
  13. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,927
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,572
    HotPlugging is always best avoided - the issue is not in itself with HDMI (it is designed to allow HotPlugging) the issue is with how your system/system components are earthed and no Matrix can protect against that!

    The metal shield on the HDMI connector will create an earth between the devices you are connecting and that is what invariably causes the problem (try connecting devices in the dark - you'll often see a nice 'spark' as the connector touches the chassis).

    System earthing can be a hassle as most devices now have no earth pin - we provide an earth point on our Matrix chassis to ensure you have the ability to properly ground the Matrix.

    In the UK we also have the (to many others) peculiar ability to have multiple mains rings in one property - esp older properties, that can throw a lot of systems into a spin.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...